D0D27F0C-E859-64B0-75C63F727C290C37
788BA567-B295-7240-71955BBD8C83D069

Admission

@HamiltonAdmssn

Office of Admission
800-843-2655
315-859-4457 (fax)

Application Process

January Admission

Frequently Asked Questions About January Admission


 
If I accept the offer of January admission, will I graduate on time?

The majority of Jans graduate with their class. This can be accomplished by taking classes elsewhere before enrolling at Hamilton, obtaining AP credit from high school, taking summer courses before enrolling or in subsequent summers, taking additional full or partial credit courses some semesters, or some combination of all of these options.  


Do I have to take credit-bearing classes during the fall?

No.  Jans have explored many alternatives over the years and their experiences have been as varied as their interests.   Some engage in internships, volunteer work, or paid employment.


How do I earn credit in the fall?

Most Jans earn transfer credit by taking courses at accredited colleges or universities in the US or by participating in a study abroad program such as the Arcadia Fall in London program or others that earn transferrable credit. Information relating to how credit might transfer (as well as a list of programs past Jans have been involved in) can be found on our Jan Courses and Credit webpage.


What courses can I take if I choose to attend the Arcadia Fall in London program?  How will they transfer into Hamilton?

A detailed listing of what courses are offered and how their credit would apply at Hamilton is available to download.  Specific questions can be referred to Anne Riffle (ariffle@hamilton.edu) in our Registrar's Office.
 

Can I play a sport or participate in an audition-based musical group as a Jan?

Hamilton Jans have done both. Coaches and directors of musical groups are responsible for determining how students admitted for January are accommodated in their respective programs. Feel free to contact them for additional information.
 

What transitional support is provided to Jan admits?

Once Jans accept our offer of admission, they are matched with an upperclassman mentor through our Jan-to-Jan Program. We offer a special orientation program for students admitted in January, and they are welcome to join their classmates in pre-Orientation programs (Adirondack Adventure or Outreach Adventure) in the fall.


How do students who start in January fit in with the student body as a whole?

Hamilton’s Jans play integral roles in our college community. Many Jans receive prestigious fellowships or secure competitive internships on Capitol Hill. One recent Jan organized a successful campaign and was elected student assembly president. Our Jans take full advantage of the opportunities and experiences offered on the Hill.


Where will I live once I arrive on campus?

Housing is guaranteed for all students, including Jans. The Office of Residential Life attempts to place January students in close proximity to each other and tries to be responsive to housing requests (such as preferred roommates) from the Jans.


How will I get into classes?

January admits are assigned Hamilton academic advisors in the late summer after high school graduation. Advisors will work with Jans in the fall semester and assist with course selection for the spring semester at Hamilton.


Whom can I contact if I have more questions?

Benjamin Rose '09, Senior Assistant Dean of Admission, will serve as your liaison as you make your decision about January admission. Please contact him with any additional questions by phone at 1-800-843-2655 or e-mail at brose@hamilton.edu. If you would like to connect with a Hamilton Jan or have specific questions regarding a particular aspect of the January Admission program, please refer to the contacts listed below.

 

Ask A Jan

Natalie Adams '17
nadams@hamilton.edu

Abigail Pynchon '16
apynchon@hamilton.edu

Sarah "Dewi" Caswell '14
scaswell@hamilton.edu

Brian Evans '15
bevans@hamilton.edu

Thomas Isen '15
tisen@hamilton.edu

Studying in London

Anna West, Program Manager
Arcadia University
(866) 927-2234
westa@arcadia.edu
http://www.arcadia.edu/abroad/hamilton

Credit Transfer

Anne Riffle, Staff Assistant for Advising
(315) 859-4637
ariffle@hamilton.edu

Kristin Friedel, Registrar
(315) 859- 4637
kfriedel@hamilton.edu

General Advising 

Meredith Bonham, Senior Associate Dean of Students for Strategic Initiatives
(315) 859-4020
mbonham@hamilton.edu

Housing 

Jean Burke, Residential Life Staff Assistant
(315) 859-4014
jburke@hamilton.edu

Orientation 

Travis Hill, Assistant Dean of Student for Residential Life
(315) 859-4023
thill@hamilton.edu

 

Cupola