Varsity Team Finder

Varsity Sports

Men's Golf


Three-time NESCAC all-conference and all-region honoree Greg Scott '14 will lead the Hamilton College men's golf program into 2013-14. Scott made the all-conference second team based on his performance at the 2012 NESCAC Championship Qualifier held at Hickory Ridge Golf Club in Amherst, Massachusetts. He was one of three Hamilton players who finished in the top 14 as he tied for 11th place. Mac Pivirotto '15 ended up sixth and was first-team all-conference, and Matt Yung '16 tied for 11th place and captured the NESCAC rookie of the year award. The Continentals finished third as a team at the qualifier and advanced to the NESCAC championship for the fifth time in six years. Four of the five golfers that competed in the 2013 NESCAC Championship return this season. Scott and Carter White '14 are the seniors on the roster and Scott is the team captain.

The 2013 NESCAC Championship Qualifier will be hosted by Bowdoin College at Brunswick Golf Course on Sept. 28 and 29. The top four teams advance to the 2014 conference championship, which is hosted by the school that finishes first in the qualifier, in late April. The winner of the NESCAC championship receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Division III championship. Five NESCAC programs, including Hamilton, have competed as a team in the NCAA championship. The Continentals finished in 19th place at Taconic Golf Course in Williamstown, Mass., in 1999.

In addition to the NESCAC events, Hamilton plays 36-hole tournaments at Middlebury College, Williams College and Skidmore College in the fall. The Continentals practice at the private, 18-hole Skenandoa Club just one mile from campus and host one tournament in the fall and spring. The team travels south during the College's spring break in March. Hamilton spent nearly two weeks at PGA Village in Port St. Lucie, Fla., in 2013.

Scott made the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) Division III Northeast Region all-region team for the third time in 2013. His 18-hole stroke average of 76.2 for 17 rounds led the team. Scott placed in the top 11 in nine events, including four finishes in the top three and two tournament wins. Yung wasn't far behind Scott with a 78.1 stroke average and Pivirotto posted a 79.2 average in seven 36-hole tournaments. He carded a pair of 75s for a career-best 150 at the NESCAC championship.

Scott was named to the all-region team for the second straight year in 2012. His 18-hole stroke average was 75.4 for 20 rounds, and he finished in the top five in five tournaments. White owned the second-best stroke average on the team in 2011-12 at 79.3 for 18 rounds. He made the all-conference second team after he tied for 14th place at the 2011 NESCAC Championship Qualifier. Pivirotto shot a season-best 75 in the second round at the NESCAC qualifier, and helped the Continentals advance to the championship with a two-day total of 151.

Scott capped his freshman season with GCAA third-team All-America honors and spots on the Division III all-freshman and all-region teams. His 18-hole stroke average was 74.7 for 21 rounds. Scott's 67 in the first round at the SUNY Oswego Spring Invitational tied a program record, and his 139 for 36 holes at that tournament is believed to be another team record. He also made the 2010 NESCAC all-conference second team.

Men's golf has been a varsity sport at Hamilton since 1930. The program emerged as one of the strongest in the Northeast during the 1990s. Four individuals, including Brian Williams '04 in 2004, have participated in the NCAA championship since 1989. Three players have earned All-America status including Scott in 2011, Steve Elkins '90 in 1990 and H. Ward Wettlaufer '59, who was a two-time honoree in 1958 and 1959.

The Continentals captured NESCAC championship titles in 1990, 1998 and 2003. In the past 13 years, 16 Hamilton players have earned a total of 26 all-conference selections. Phil Preiss '10 was the 2009 player of the year -- the third time a Hamilton golfer claimed the award during that decade. In 2003, Williams was player of the year for the second straight year, and Chris Pike '07 was rookie of the year.

Brad Roche '11 was a two-time all-region selection and a three-time NESCAC all-conference team member, including a pair of first-team honors. Roche finished second in the 2007 NESCAC qualifier at The Skenandoa Club and captured the rookie of the year award. Roche made the all-region team in 2008 and 2009. He also was selected to the 2008 Division III all-freshman team.

Exceptional academic performance has always been a staple of the men's golf program. Dave Christie '09, Jeff Corbett '09 and Mike Hayes '08 were selected Division III All-America scholars by the GCAA in 2008 and Corbett made the list again in 2009. Knute Gailor '13 and Conor Fox '15 made the 2012 NESCAC Fall All-Academic Team. Each honoree has a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.35 and must have reached sophomore academic standing.