Varsity Team Finder

RSS Feed       

Varsity Sports

Men's Ice Hockey


Kenny Matheson '16, Robbie Murden '17 and five seniors lead the Hamilton College men's hockey program into 2014-15. Murden topped the Continentals with 11 goals and tied for fifth place in the NESCAC with three game-winners last season. Matheson, who is this season's team captain, recorded eight goals and tied Murden for second on the team with 13 assists in 2013-14. The seniors are Pat Curtis '15, Patrick Sen '15, Nick Vassos '15, Joe Rausch '15 and Zach Arnold '15.

Curtis tied for fifth in the conference with five power-play goals last season. Curtis scored nine times overall and he and Truman Landowski '17 (4g-9a) finished with 13 points apiece. Arnold posted a .921 save percentage and 2.93 goals-against average in six starts last season. Marko Brelih '16, who was on the NESCAC all-conference team and the U.S. College Hockey Online Division III all-rookie team two seasons ago, returns on the blue line after playing in just 12 games in 2013-14.

The program will miss graduates Mike DiMare '14, Joe Quattrocchi '14 and Evan Haney '14. DiMare was a two-time NESCAC all-conference selection and the conference's 2011 rookie of the year. Quattrocchi finished third on the team's all-time list with a career .900 save percentage and is fourth with 1,633 saves. Haney is playing professionally with the Quad City Mallards of the ECHL.

Hamilton plays in the NESCAC, which is one of the top athletic conferences in Division III. NESCAC teams have won eight NCAA men's hockey titles since 1995. The 2013 NESCAC champion advanced to the quarterfinals of the national tournament. The winner of the conference's postseason tournament receives an automatic bid to the NCAA championship. 2011-12 marked the first time that Hamilton played the other nine NESCAC programs at home and on the road in the same season.

Hamilton has played in 12 of the 15 NESCAC championships and reached the semifinals six times. Twelve players have received 17 all-conference honors since 2000-01. Gus Katsuras '06 was a four-time member of the all-conference team and was selected player of the year by the coaches in 2005 and 2006. Joe Houk was voted the 2011 NESCAC Player of the Year and Norm Bazin was NESCAC Coach of the Year two of the three seasons he guided the Continentals.

Hamilton plays 11 games on campus at Russell Sage Rink, including the opener against Amherst College on Nov. 15. The Continentals wrap up their home schedule with games against Williams College and Middlebury College on Feb. 20 and 21. Sage Rink -- with a seating capacity of 600 -- was built in 1921 and last renovated in 1993. The rink is the second-oldest college ice arena in the nation.

Every season the team uses ticket sales from one non-conference game played at the Clinton Arena as a fundraiser for the Clinton Youth Hockey Association. The Continentals hosted their first Wounded Warrior Project game in 2014 against Tufts University. Donations and sales of specially created jerseys benefited the Wounded Warrior Project -- a non-profit organization that assists members of the armed forces who have been injured in service of the U.S.

In 2010-11, the Continentals enjoyed their best season since they won the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Division III East championship at the end of the 1997-98 campaign. Hamilton finished with an overall record of 14-7-4 for its fewest losses in any season since 1996-97. The Continentals captured first place in the NESCAC with a record of 11-4-4 and earned the No. 1 seed in the conference championship for the first time. Hamilton owned a record of 11-3-1 away from home, including a win at then-No. 1 SUNY Oswego on Dec. 30. The Lakers hadn't lost at home in their last 25 games. The Continentals went 6-0-2 in their last eight games of the regular season and finished second in the NESCAC in scoring offense with 3.72 goals per game.

In 2009-10, Hamilton won 15 games and advanced to the NESCAC championship semifinals after a thrilling 2-1 overtime victory at Williams in the quarterfinals. The Continentals advanced to the postseason 14 straight years in either the ECAC or the NESCAC from 1993 to 2006. The Continentals captured the ECAC East title in 1998 and played in the championship game in 1968, 1975 and 1996. Hamilton won a team-record 19 games en route to a 19-6-1 mark in 1996-97.

The program has a rich tradition that dates back to 1918. More than 700 wins have been recorded and more than 1,600 games have been played -- mostly in venerable Sage Rink. Seven All-Americans, twenty-five 100-point scorers and a player that went on to star in the National Hockey League have laced up their skates at Hamilton.

Guy Hebert '89 received All-America honors in 1989 and went on to enjoy a successful NHL career as a goalie for the St. Louis Blues, Anaheim Mighty Ducks and New York Rangers from 1991 to 2001. Other All-Americans include: C. Michael Thomas '71 (1970), Kurt Ziemendorf '77 (1976), Harry McCabe '89 (1989), Joe Baudo '97 (1997), Katsuras (2005, 2006) and Houk (2011). Katsuras is the only two-time selection in program history. Houk received first team honors as a defenseman. Katsuras, Ricky Reichenbach '06, Tom Ditzer '04, Kyle Roulston '09 and Anthony Scarpino '12 have all played professionally in the U.S. and in Europe recently. Mike Marta '84 is tied for 19th on the career goals list for NCAA Division III with 119. Marta is the program's all-time leader with 209 points.

Rob Haberbusch is the sixth man that has held the title of Hamilton head men's hockey coach. Phil Grady won 304 games from 1984 to 2008, Greg Batt won 263 contests from 1948 to 1984 and Albert Prettyman won 135 games from 1918 to 1943. Prettyman was the U.S. men's hockey coach for the 1936 Winter Olympic Games when the U.S. won the bronze medal. Francis F. Baker '36 was a goalie for Prettyman on that team.

The men's hockey program is as solid in the classroom as it is on the ice. Seven student-athletes earned spots on the 2013-14 NESCAC Winter All-Academic Team. Sen was given the Class of 2009 Community Service award and Vassos received the Coleman Burke Prize at Hamilton's 2013 Class and Charter Day. Vassos also collected the Willard Bostwick Marsh Prize at the 2013 Convocation and the Charles A. Dana Prize and the Phi Beta Kappa Book Prize at the 2012 Convocation. Matheson claimed the Grant Keehn Prize at the 2013 Convocation. Ian Stearns '10 and Nate Miller '08 were elected to the Epsilon chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, which is the oldest and most prestigious honor society in the country.