Varsity Team Finder

Varsity Sports

Men's Squash


Eight of last season's top 10 players return for the Hamilton College men's squash team in 2014-15. Joshua Wolpert '16 led the way with 11 victories last season. Martin Bawden '14, who was the team's top player and a three-time NESCAC all-conference selection, has graduated. The Continentals posted eight wins in 2013-14, including two against Stanford University and three against Connecticut College. The seniors are Teddy Black '15, Austin Engros '15, Peter Harrison '15, Walker Lourie '15, Ted Nehrbas '15 and Mac Pivirotto '15.

Hamilton plays its home matches in the Little Squash Center. The $6.1 million on-campus squash facility was completed in October 2006. The center features 10 regulation-size courts, including two with exhibition-style seating, and two team locker rooms. The Continentals are scheduled to host Williams College and Tufts University on Nov. 22, Colgate University on Dec. 3 and St. Lawrence University on Jan. 31.

For the first time in the eight-year history of the event, Hamilton hosted the NESCAC Men's Squash Championship in 2014. The team will participate for the ninth straight year this season at Williams. The Continentals played 13 matches against NESCAC competition last season. The team travels to Trinity College for the 2015 team championships and a couple players will go to Princeton University for the College Squash Association (CSA) individual championships. Wesleyan University is set to host a Division III invitational in early December.

The men often travel during winter break for training trips so the players can go to places they have never seen before. The Continentals have been to Stanford University and Palo Alto, Calif., twice since 2006. A January 2010 training trip took the team to Washington, D.C., for six days. In 2009 the team spent a few days in the Cayman Islands. Ten years ago, the men traveled overseas for a week-long stay in the city of Amsterdam. The Continentals took advantage of the opportunity to play a number of European club teams and participated in intense training sessions.

Bawden made the NESCAC all-conference team for the second time and Jamie King was selected the conference's coach of the year in 2012. Alex Wood '12 finished his career tied for second place on the program's all-time wins list with 47. The Continentals won two of three matches at the NESCAC championship, defeated Wesleyan in the first round at the CSA team championships and ended the season at No. 20 in the CSA rankings.

In 2009-10, the Continentals captured the Summers Cup consolation bracket title at the CSA team championships for the second straight year. Hamilton won 11 matches and finished the season ranked 21st by the CSA. The Continentals extended their streak of consecutive seasons with 10 or more wins to six. Hamilton also received the Sloane Award for team sportsmanship for the second time in three seasons.

The Continentals were first given the prestigious Sloane Award at the 2008 CSA team championships. The award is voted on by the coaches and is presented to the team that best displayed the highest level of sportsmanship during the season. Coach King is the first person to receive the award as a player (1984 as Williams' team captain) and as a coach. Hamilton went on to win two of three matches and finished third in the Summers Cup bracket.

The Buff and Blue have launched themselves into the upper half of the college squash rankings in recent years. In 2007-08 the men wrapped up the season ranked 19th, which is the team's best performance in 14 years under King. The Continentals earned the 2002 Bill Barhite Award, which goes to the most improved team in the CSA. After a 2-16 record in 2000-01, the team went 10-9 and took third place in the Conroy Cup at the 2002 CSA team championships. The Continentals were the Conroy runners-up the following year. The men brought home the Conroy team trophy in 1996.

The men have experienced some individual success during the program's long history that dates back to 1980. Elias Hassanali '91 was an All-America selection after the 1988-89 season. Hassanali won 17 out of 20 matches and led the Continentals to a 14-5 record. The 14 wins still stand as the team record for most in a season. John DeWitt '09, who is the career leader with 48 victories, made the 2009 NESCAC all-conference team.

The Continentals excel on the court and in the classroom. Xander Kerman '14 and Addison Morse '16 earned spots on the 2013-14 NESCAC Winter All-Academic Team. Each all-academic team honoree is a varsity letter winner with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.35. The student-athlete must have reached sophomore academic standing to be considered for honors. Kerman, Alex Wood and Mark Clark '11 have all been elected to the Epsilon chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, which is the nation's oldest and most prestigious honor society.