Varsity Team Finder

RSS Feed       

Varsity Sports

Women's Ice Hockey


Katie Parkman '17, Sara Taffe '17 and team captain Courtney Power '15 lead the Hamilton College women's hockey team into 2014-15. Parkman tied for ninth place in the NESCAC with 10 goals last season and tied for the team lead with 16 points. Taffe tied for ninth in defender scoring with 11 points. Sarah Schuchardt '15 posted a 2.37 goals-against average in 10 starts and is the lone returning goalie.

The Continentals are a member of the NESCAC, which is the best women's hockey conference in NCAA Division III. NESCAC programs have won seven of the 14 national championships and finished runner-up twice. The winner of the conference championship receives an automatic bid to the NCAA championship.

Some notable home games this season include the opener against Amherst College on Nov. 16, a non-conference contest against local rival Utica College on Dec. 2 and NESCAC weekend series against Trinity College (Jan. 23-24), Wesleyan University (Feb. 6-7) and Colby College (Feb. 21-22). Russell Sage Rink -- with a seating capacity of 600 -- was built in 1921 and last renovated in 1993. The rink is the second-oldest college ice arena in the nation.

The Continentals tied a team record for wins in a season and finished with an overall record of 13-11-1 in 2012-13. Hamilton ranked second in the NESCAC on the power play at 22 percent and advanced to the postseason for the 12th straight year. Nikki Haskins '14 tied for fourth in the NESCAC with 14 goals and the Continentals boasted a strong group of first-year athletes. Hannah Bartlett '16 ranked sixth in freshman scoring with 14 points and also tied for 10th place overall in assists with 12. Naomi Woolfenden '16 was ninth with 11 points and Megan Fitzgerald '16 tied for 10th place with nine.

Two-time all-conference selection Katie Zimmerman '13 and 2010 NESCAC Rookie of the Year Becca Hazlett '13 graduated as two of the top players in program history. Zimmerman is tied for third on the team's all-time list with 57 goals, while Hazlett holds the career record with a 2.64 goals-against average and is second all-time with 2,099 saves.

Women's hockey has been a varsity program at Hamilton since 1996-97 when the team won 12 games. The Continentals set single-season program records for wins (13) and most goals scored (95) in 2002-03. Hamilton appeared in the Division III Top 10 coaches poll for the first time that season, and the Continentals won a team-record six straight games the following season. The team's first postseason victory was a 6-1 win against Amherst in the first round of the 2004 NESCAC Championship at Sage Rink. The Continentals advanced to the conference semifinals in 2004, 2005 and 2007.

The team made history on Feb. 6, 2010, when the Continentals edged Middlebury College 3-2 for their first win ever against the Panthers. Hazlett had one of the best seasons for a goalie in team history in 2009-10. She ranked fourth in the NESCAC and set a program record with a .931 save percentage, and posted a 2.31 goals-against average and two shutouts in 19 starts.

Six players have finished their careers with more than 100 points. Zoe Baldwin '06 holds the team record with 136 from 2002 to 2006. Baldwin set program records for most goals in a season (30) and a career (91). She was a three-time NESCAC all-conference selection and the 2003 rookie of the year. Other 100-point scorers include Paula Dady '03 (133), Amy Williams '99 (117), Eden Self '04 (111), Marissa Halligan '05 (109) and Stephanie Miguel '11 (101).

Miguel received the first All-America award in Hamilton women's hockey history in 2009 when she made the second team for the East Region. Miguel led the NESCAC with 21 goals and 37 points in 2008-09, and was voted the conference's co-player of the year and placed on the all-conference first team.

Halligan was selected to travel with the U.S. women's hockey team to Sochi, Russia, as the team's video coordinator at the 2014 Winter Olympics. She has been a member of the staff at USA Hockey since October 2008 and has assisted with the overall operations of the women’s national team program and under-18 program since 2010. As manager of women's hockey, Halligan serves as the staff liaison to the girls' and women's section of USA Hockey to help manage and develop the game at district and national levels. Halligan assists the 12 districts and affiliates with player development, membership growth and retention. Some other annual responsibilities include district/affiliate select camp tryouts, district player development events, coordinating and managing select player development camps, assisting with the USA Hockey girls'/women's national championships and providing support with national team events.

The women's hockey program is as solid in the classroom as it is on the ice. Bartlett, Tori Bogen '14, Casey Brown '16, Steph Lang '14 and Julia Williams '14 earned spots on the 2013-14 NESCAC Winter All-Academic Team. Meg Shine '10 was elected to the Epsilon chapter of Phi Beta Kappa in 2010. Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest and most prestigious honor society in the country.