Varsity Team Finder

RSS Feed       

Varsity Sports

Women's Lacrosse


* 2008 NCAA Division III champions

* 2010 NCAA runners-up

* 2009 NCAA semifinalists

* Seven NCAA championship appearances

* 23 All-America awards

* 333 victories all-time

* 2014 IWLCA Academic Honor Squad

2014 all-region selection Margaret Gabriel '16 leads the Hamilton College women's lacrosse program into 2015. Gabriel finished with 21 goals, 14 assists, 35 draw controls and 16 caused turnovers last year. Gabriel, who made the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) all-region second team in the Berkshire Region, was tied for 17th in the NESCAC in points per game and tied for seventh in assists per game. Casey File '17 ranked 10th in the conference in draw controls per game in her first year with the Continentals.

The NESCAC is one of the top athletic conferences in NCAA Division III and women's lacrosse is no exception. Five NESCAC teams played in the 2014 NCAA Women's Lacrosse Championship, two of those squads advanced to the semifinals and one played for the national championship. The NESCAC boasts seven NCAA titles and nine national runner-up finishes in women's lacrosse. The conference tournament champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA championship.

Alice Grant '14 and four-year starter Katie D'Antonio '14 graduated last May. Grant led the NESCAC in ground balls per game and was selected for the 2014 all-conference and all-region teams on defense. D'Antonio racked up 112 goals and 50 assists for 162 points in 68 career games -- all starts -- for Hamilton.

In 2013 the Continentals advanced to the NESCAC Championship semifinals for the second straight year and finished the season ranked 18th in the Division III Top 20 coaches poll. Rachel Friedman '13 and Paige Engeldrum '13 graduated after fantastic college careers. Engeldrum was selected to the 2013 NESCAC all-conference first team on defense. Friedman was an all-conference pick in 2012 and a two-time all-region honoree. She ended up in third place on the program's all-time list with 179 goals and 235 points.

With appearances in the NCAA Championship every year from 2007 to 2011, including a national title in 2008, Hamilton firmly established itself as a major women's lacrosse power in Division III. The Continentals won 38 straight games at home from April 26, 2006, to May 16, 2010. The team's rich tradition dates back to the program's start in 1979. Hamilton has made 28 postseason appearances, including seven in the NCAA Championship, and won more than 300 games. The Continentals are 13-6 in NCAA play and have reached the quarterfinals six times.

Seventeen players have received a total of 23 All-America awards, including two-time first team honorees Sarah Bray '11 and Nicole Tetreault '08, and career goals, assists and points leader Kaillie Briscoe '09. Lauren Sokol '12 was a two-time All-American on defense and played in the 2012 North/South Senior All-Star Game. Meg Pengue '12 was another recent All-American (2011). Pengue set a program record with 51 caused turnovers in 2011. Head coach Patty Kloidt was selected the 2008 Division III Coach of the Year by the IWLCA.

In 2011, the Continentals won 18 games and advanced to the second round of the NCAA Championship. Hamilton opened the season with a win against Gettysburg College and the Bullets went on to capture the national championship. Hamilton won 16 straight games at one point, scored 273 goals and allowed just 130 in 20 games.

Twenty-one Hamilton women's lacrosse players made history on May 18, 2008, when the Continentals dominated reigning NCAA Division III champions Franklin & Marshall College by a 13-6 score in a rain-soaked national title game at Roanoke College in Salem, Virginia. Bray was named the most outstanding player of the championship after she posted five goals and one assist against F & M. The amazing run to the championship was no fluke. Hamilton knocked off traditional powerhouse programs Middlebury College and Salisbury University on its way to the final. The Continentals finished their memorable season with a 21-1 mark and set a team record with those 21 victories. The record was matched just two years later when Hamilton won its first 21 games before a one-goal loss against Salisbury in the 2010 NCAA Championship game.

Hamilton competed in the Liberty League from 1996 to 2011. The Continentals captured five straight league championship crowns from 2007 to 2011 and won six league regular season titles. In 2011 Bray was selected the league's offensive player of the year, Pengue was named defensive player of the year and D'Antonio was voted rookie of the year as Hamilton swept the major awards. Tetreault received league player of the year honors in 2007 and 2008, and Liz Longley '07 picked up the hardware in 2006. Kloidt and her coaching staff were honored by the league in 2004, 2008, 2010 and 2011. The Continentals won 49 of their last 50 games against league opponents.

Strong academic performance is an important part of the program. Seven players earned a spot on the 2014 NESCAC Spring All-Academic Team. In 2013 Friedman was elected to the Epsilon chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, which is the nation's oldest and most prestigious honor society. Tetreault was voted a 2008 first team academic All-American on the women's at-large team by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA). Three student-athletes have made CoSIDA's Division III Academic All-District Women's At-Large Team since 2010.

Hamilton plays its home games at Steuben Field on the site's artificial grass surface, which was installed in 2009. The Continentals play seven home games in 2015, including the season opener against Wesleyan University on February 28. Other NESCAC home games are against Bowdoin College (March 14), Bates College (March 28), Tufts University (April 11) and Middlebury College (April 15). Hamilton travels to Florida during spring break and plays Keene State College.