Office of the President

Office of the President

Statement on ASA Boycott

We the Presidents of the six schools that make up the New York Six Liberal Arts Consortium (Colgate University, Hamilton College, Hobart and William Smith Colleges, St. Lawrence University, Skidmore College, Union College) reject the call for a boycott of Israeli academic institutions recently announced by the American Studies Association. We agree with the American Association of University Professors that the ASA resolution is "a setback for the cause of academic freedom." We have found that interaction and collaboration are by far the best way for schools to investigate the most significant problems our society faces. We will continue to encourage our colleagues to engage with faculty and institutions in Israel and across the world to promote scholarship and the free exchange of ideas, and to provide additional opportunities for our students.

Jeffrey Herbst
Colgate University

William Fox
 St. Lawrence University

Joan Hinde Stewart
Hamilton College

Philip Glotzbach
 Skidmore College

Mark Gearan
Hobart and William Smith Colleges

Stephen Ainlay
Union College