F90FFA26-D151-D1DA-2A5FCC6569B1F237
48CBFCAC-9466-B204-E4BAD496A87DD7B9

Faculty & Administration


Janelle A. Schwartz

Founder & General Director
jschwart@hamilton.edu

Janelle Schwartz founded the Hamilton Adirondack Program in 2013 and saw it through to its successful launch in fall 2015. She is the program's general director, teaches its Common Experience Seminar, coordinates the students' internships, and advises some of the students' independent research projects. She also organizes and teaches the intentional community on which the program is based. Schwartz has published articles, essays and blogs on literature and ecology, cabinets of curiosity, pedagogy and more. She wrote Worm Work: Recasting Romanticism (2012, University of Minnesota Press), which focuses on the intersection of invertebrate zoology during the 18th and 19th centuries with the poetry and prose of Romanticism. Her next research project involves the work and life of Adirondack painter and woodsman Don Wynn. Schwartz is working on her first travel narrative, Land and Sky and Chocolate Milk, which focuses on the relationship between land use, the contemplative moment and solitary running. Schwartz writes occasionally for the Adirondack Almanack, an online news journal about the region. She earned her doctorate in literature and the history of science from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She is a Class of 1997 Hamilton alumna, majoring in comparative literature. She taught English literature and environmental studies at Loyola University New Orleans before returning to Hamilton to teach literature and environmental studies.

Onno Oerlemans

Faculty-in-Residence (Fall 2015)
Professor of English
ooerlema@hamilton.edu

Onno Oerlemans has published articles on the form and function of lyric in Whitman, Milton and Wordsworth, on literary theory and Henry James, and on animal rights and taxonomy in romanticism. Oerlemans’ book Romanticism and the Materiality of Nature examines the ways in which romantic-period authors explore and represent the physical presence of the natural world. He recently published articles on the representation of animals in Coetzee and Gowdy, the romantic origins of environmentalism and architecture in romantic period writing. Oerlemans is writing a book about the representation of animals in the history of poetry. He was the first faculty-in-residence for Hamilton’s new Academic Program in the Adirondacks. He earned his doctorate from Yale University.

Seth Major

Faculty-in-Residence (Fall 2016)
Professor of Physics

Seth Major's research is in quantum gravity, a field of theoretical physics devoted to finding the deep structure of spacetime, and in the phenomenology of quantum geometry. Recently Major has focused on possible observable consequences of quantum gravity, particularly on how granular spatial geometry might be indirectly observed. He has worked on the quantum deformation of quantum gravity, causal sets, operators in quantum gravity and modified dispersion relations. Major was a Lise Meitner Fellow at the Institute for Theoretical Physics of the University of Vienna and taught at Swarthmore and Deep Springs colleges. He earned a doctorate in theoretical physics from Pennsylvania State University.

Bill Pfitsch

Faculty-in-Residence (Fall 2017)
Associate Professor of Biology
wpfitsch@hamilton.edu

William Pfitsch studies how plants meet the challenges of living in potentially stressful conditions. Of particular interest are the interactions with soil microorganisms that help plants meet those challenges. In recent years, research in the Pfitsch lab has also focused on the ecological implications of invasive plants in local forests in terms of community composition and ecosystem structure and function. He earned his doctorate in botany at the University of Washington.

Maurice Isserman

FACULTY-IN-RESIDENCE (FALL 2018)
Publius Virgilius Rogers Professor of American History
misserma@hamilton.edu

Maurice Isserman's new book, Continental Divide: A History of American Mountaineering, has just been published by Norton to favorable reviews. A former Fulbright grant-winner, his prize-winning books include The Other American: The Life of Michael Harrington, and his co-authored book Fallen Giants: A History of Himalayan Mountaineering from the Age of Empire to the Age of Extremes. He is co-author of America Divided: The Civil War of the 1960s, and wrote On the Hill: A Bicentennial History of Hamilton College. He also has published Cronkite's War: His World War Two Letters Home, co-authored with Walter Cronkite IV '11. He received his doctorate from the University of Rochester.

Affiliated FacultY

Dave Bailey, Professor of Geosciences
dbailey@hamilton.edu

Joyce Barry, Visiting Assistant Professor of Women's Studies
jmbarry@hamilton.edu

Kate Brown, Assistant Professor of Physics
kjonessm@hamilton.edu

Peter Cannavò, Associate Professor of Government and Director of Environmental Studies
pcannavo@hamilton.edu

Katheryn Doran, Associate Professor of Philosophy
kdoran@hamilton.edu

Cynthia Downs, Assistant Professor of Biology
cdowns@hamilton.edu

Steve Ellingson, Professor of Sociology
sellings@hamilton.edu

Courtney Gibbons, Assistant Professor of Mathematics
crgibbon@hamilton.edu

Lydia Hamessley, Professor of Music
lhamessl@hamilton.edu

Stuart Hirshfield, Stephen Harper Kirner Chair of Computer Science
shirshfi@hamilton.edu

Betsy Jensen, Professor of Economics
ejensen@hamilton.edu

Robin Kinnel, Silas D. Childs Professor of Chemistry Emeritus
rkinnel@hamilton.edu

Herm Lehman, Professor of Biology
hlehman@hamilton.edu

Heather Merrill, Professor of Africana Studies
hmerrill@hamilton.edu

John O'Neal, Professor of French
joneal@hamilton.edu

Ann Owen, Henry Platt Bristol Professor in Public Policy
aowen@hamilton.edu

Patrick Reynolds, Stone Professor of Natural History
preynold@hamilton.edu

Andrew Rippeon, Visiting Assistant Professor of Literature
arippeon@hamilton.edu

Jane Springer, Associate Professor of English and Creative Writing
jspringe@hamilton.edu

Katherine Terrell, Associate Professor of English
kterrell@hamilton.edu

Andrea Townsend, Assistant Professor of Biology
aktownse@hamilton.edu

Jason Townsend, Supervisor of Introductory Laboratories
jtownsen@hamilton.edu

Ernest Williams, Jr, William R. Kenan Professor of Biology Emeritus
ewilliam@hamilton.edu


Affiliated Staff

Frank Coots, Director of Campus Safety
fcoots@hamilton.edu

Brian Hansen, Director of Environmental Protection, Safety and Sustainability
bhansen@hamilton.edu

Wayne Gentile, Assistant Director of Campus Safety
wgentile@hamilton.edu

Travis Hill, Assistant Dean of Students for Residential Life
thill@hamilton.edu

Andrew Jillings, Director of Outdoor Leadership
ajilling@hamilton.edu

Mike Jones, Assistant Director of Campus Safety
mrjones@hamilton.edu

Alfio LaRocca, Assistant Director of Business Operations (Physical Plant)
alarocca@hamilton.edu

Reid Larson, Research and Digital Initiatives Librarian
rslarson@hamilton.edu

Mike Neidhart, Mechanic Foreperson (Physical Plant)
mneidhar@hamilton.edu

Carolyn North, Assistant Dean of Off-Campus Study
cnorth@hamilton.edu

Hillary Joy Pitoniak, Greenhouse and Invertebrate Care Technician (and Certified Primitive Life Skills Instructor)
hjpitoni@hamilton.edu

Anthony Scalise, Campus Safety Investigator
ascalise@hamilton.edu

Yvonne Schick, Print Shop Supervisor
yschick@hamilton.edu

Abby Taylor, Director of Employer Relations (Career Center)
aetaylor@hamilton.edu

David Walden, Assistant Director of Counseling and Psychological Services and Lecturer in Psychology
dwalden@hamilton.edu

Contact Information


Dr. Janelle A. Schwartz

General Director
Back to Top