Townsquare/Dstillery pixel
The Josephine De Kármán Fellowship Trust was established in 1954 by the late Dr. Theodore von Kármán, world renowned aeronautics expert and teacher and first director of the Guggenheim Aeronautical Laboratory at the California Institute of Technology, in memory of his sister, Josephine, who passed away in 1951. The purpose of this Fellowship program is to recognize and assist students whose scholastic achievements reflect Professor von Kármán’s high standards.
  • Students in any discipline entering senior undergraduate year or a candidate for a PhD who will defend his/her dissertation by June. Post-doctoral students are not eligible for consideration.

  • Open to U.S. or foreign students already enrolled in a university located in the United States.


Applicants should have manifested exceptional academic ability and serious purpose. Special consideration will be given to applicants in the Humanities.


A minimum of ten fellowships, $8,000 for undergraduate students, or $16,000 for graduate students will be awarded for the regular academic year paid through the office of the university in which the candidate will be enrolled for study in the United States. Study must be carried out only in the United States and all funds must be expended only within this country. Fellowship is for one academic year and may not be renewed or postponed.


January 31, 2007: postmark
April 15, 2007: Announcement of awards

Visit the De Kármán Fellowship website for more information.


Contact Name

Lisa Grimes

Student Fellowships Coordinator

The $400 million campaign to provide students with a life-altering education.

Learn More About the Campaign

Site Search