Men's hockey team hands out 2011 awards

The Hamilton College men's ice hockey team held their annual awards banquet at the Skenandoa Club in Clinton on April 18.

Joe Houk ‘13 was selected the 2011 Most Valuable Player, which is awarded to the player who has the most impact in his team’s success this past season. The defenseman was selected a first team All-American, and voted the NESCAC player of the year. He finished third in the NESCAC with 17 goals and added 16 assists for a total of 33 points. 

Houk also received the Sellers Award. The award is presented to the player who, in the judgment of his teammates and coaches, has contributed greatly to the success of the program through his effort and performance both on and off the ice.

Nick Anderson ’14 received the Coaches Award, which is given to the player who the coaching staff believed had a strong season and impacted the game in a positive and significant manner. The forward scored 13 goals and had nine assists for a total of 22 points.

Tommy Williams ’14 received the Albert I. Prettyman Award. The award is presented in memory of Albert Prettyman, who was the founder of Hamilton hockey and the College's first hockey coach from 1918 to 1943. He was also the U.S. Olympic Coach in 1936. This award is presented to the player who demonstrated outstanding dedication, determination and desire. His attitude has proven to be not only an asset to his team, but an inspiration to his teammates and coaches. The forward scored three goals and was credited with nine assists in 20 games.

Phil DiDonato ‘13 received the Most Improved Player Award, which is given to the player who showed great dedication to improve his game throughout the season or from the previous season. The defenseman scored two goals in 17 games after playing in just six games as a rookie.

Joe Buicko ’11 received the Michael S. White Award, which is given to a graduating senior in recognition of team spirit, leadership and integrity, and whose enthusiasm for the game makes it a great experience for all players. Buicko was a two-time captain and a mainstay on offense all four seasons. He finished his 93-game career with 33 goals and 53 assists for a total of 86 points.

Michael DiMare ’14 was named the Rookie of the Year. This award is given to the freshman who made the most impact to the success of the team in his first season. The forward was selected the NESCAC rookie of the year, and finished ninth in the conference with 15 goals in 25 games. DiMare added 12 assists.

Contact Information

Media Relations Office

198 College Hill Road 
Clinton, NY 13323
315-859-4680 pr@hamilton.edu
Back to Top