Men's ice hockey hands out postseason awards

The Hamilton College men's ice hockey team held their annual awards banquet at Nola’s Restaurant in Clinton on the evening of April 18, 2013.

Joe Quattrocchi '14 was selected the 2013 Most Valuable Player. The goaltender posted an .897 save percentage and a 3.25 goals against average. Quattrocchi played more than 1,300 minutes between the pipes, started 24 games and recorded one shutout. Heading into his final year, Quattrocchi needs just 62 saves to move into fifth place on the program's all-time list.

Evan Haney '14 received the Albert I. Prettyman Award for the second consecutive year. The award is presented in memory of Albert Prettyman, who was the founder of Hamilton hockey and the College's first hockey coach from 1918 to 1943. He was also the U.S. Olympic Coach in 1936. This award is presented to the player who demonstrated outstanding dedication, determination and desire. His attitude has proven to not only be an asset to his team, but an inspiration to his teammates and coaches.

Kenny Matheson '16 received the Coaches Award, which is given to the player who the coaching staff believed had a strong season and impacted the game in a positive and significant manner. Matheson played in the first four games before he missed the next 16 due to injury. The forward came back with a vengeance and tallied seven points on two goals and five assists in the final five games.

Patrick Sen '15 and Brian Infante '13 shared the Most Improved Player Award, which is given to the player(s) who showed great dedication to improve his game throughout the season or from the previous season. Sen appeared in 20 games and finished with two assists. Infante stepped into a starting role on defense and passed out a career-high four assists.

Cam Gibbar '13 received the Michael S. White Award, which is given to a graduating senior in recognition of team spirit, leadership and integrity, and whose enthusiasm for the game makes it a great experience for all players. Gibbar played in 16 games and made 10 starts in goal over his four-year career.

Andrew White '13 received the Sellers Award. The award is presented to the player who, in the judgment of his teammates and coaches, has contributed greatly to the success of the program through his effort and performance both on and off the ice. The defenseman was the only graduating senior that appeared in all 101 games since he arrived on campus. White wrapped up his career with seven goals and 29 assists.

Marko Brelih '16 received Rookie of the Year honors. This award is given to the freshman who made the most impact to the success of the team in his first season. Brelih racked up multiple postseason accolades, including a 2013 NESCAC All-Conference second team honor and a 2013 Division III United States College Hockey Online (USCHO) All-Rookie Team selection. He ranked third in the NESCAC in defenseman scoring and tied for second in rookie scoring with 20 points on seven goals and 13 assists.

Back to Top