No. 15 women’s crew places third in varsity eight

Nationally ranked No. 15 Hamilton College finished third in the varsity eights behind No. 3 William Smith College and the University of Rochester on the Erie Canal in Rome, N.Y., on April 13.

All races were 2,000 meters in length. Temperatures were in the 40s with a 10 mph tailwind and a slight tail current. Overall, there were good water conditions and floating starts.

William Smith’s varsity eight completed the course in 6 minutes, 41.04 seconds, Rochester finished in 6:56.36 and Hamilton came in at 7:03.35. Kelsey Burke '13 was the coxswain, Keara Fenzel '14 was in stroke seat and Jess Pedersen '15 was in the bow. The rest of the boat included (seats seven through two in descending order):  Karly Moore '15, Margaret Hylas '15, Caroline Walton '15, Helen Higgins '13, Annie Lindahl '15 and Erin Gerrity '15.

Hamilton edged William Smith for first place in the second varsity eight with a time of 7:02.45. William Smith was right behind in 7:06.40 and followed by Rochester in 7:15.47. Heather Piekarz '16 was the coxswain, Hideko Nara '15 was in stroke seat and Rachel Johnson '13 was in the bow. Seats seven through two in descending order included:  Fiona Hoffman-Harland '13, Emma Zanazzi '15, Keara Lynn '16, Grace Bowers '15, Ally Kontra '15 and Jess Sofen '16.

In the novice eight, William Smith took first in 7:19.24. Rochester came in second at 7:29.29 and Hamilton was third in 7:42.41. Amy Song '16 was coxswain, Sofen was in stroke seat and Mollie Major '14 was in the bow. The rest of the boat consisted of (seats seven through two in descending order):  Lynn, Julia Coash '16, Rachel Feuerstein '16, Taylor Healy '15, Nina Byers '16 and Katie Schramm '16.

William Smith and Hamilton also raced in the third varsity eight. The Herons won in 7:21.34, which was 13 seconds ahead of Hamilton. Sydney Cantor '16 served as coxswain, Coash was in the stroke seat and Meredith Garner '15 was in the bow. Seats seven through two in descending order included: Byers, Rachel Landman '15, Feuerstein, Hannah Zucker '15, Schramm and Margaret Smith '15.

Hamilton hosts St. Lawrence University on Saturday, April 20.

Back to Top