Executive search firm Isaacson, Miller has been retained to assist with this search. Representatives will conduct listening sessions with campus constituencies throughout summer and early fall of 2023 to develop a detailed position prospectus and candidate profile. Isaacson, Miller welcomes input, nominations, and questions.

Committee members can be contacted via email at pres-search@hamilton.edu.

The Board of Trustees is responsible for hiring the president of the College. The vice chairs of the Board will lead a search committee to recommend Hamilton’s next president to the full Board.

Again, committee members can be contacted via email at pres-search@hamilton.edu.

The search committee, expected to begin its work in June, includes:


Linda Johnson ’80

Charter Trustee


Robert V. Delaney, Jr. ’79

Charter Trustee


Committee Members

Aron J. Ain ’79, P ’09,’11

Charter Trustee


Christopher D. Card

Vice President and Dean of Students


Rhea R. Datta

Assistant Professor of Biology


Mark T. Fedorcik ’95

Alumni Trustee


Kevin W. Kennedy ’70

Life Trustee


Gill M. King P’16

Ex Officio, Chief of Staff and Secretary to the Board


Lea H. Kuck ’87, P’24

Charter Trustee


Karen L. Leach

Vice President for Administration and Finance


Jeff F. Little ’71, P’04

Life Trustee


Sharon D. Madison ’84

Charter Trustee


Quentin L. Messer III

Class of 2026


Celeste D. Moore

Associate Professor of History


Daniel T.H. Nye ’88, P’24

Charter Trustee


David M. Solomon ’84, P’16

Chair, Board of Trustees


Aaron L. Strong

Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies


Sophie M. Thompson

Class of 2024


Faculty and students nominated peers for the consideration of the committee co-chairs using an approval voting process. The names of the six students and six faculty (three tenured, three pre-tenure) receiving the highest number of votes from their peers were referred to the search committee co-chairs to make the final selections.

Isaacson, Miller will screen applicants and refer the most qualified candidates to the search committee.

The committee is responsible for reviewing candidate materials and recommending a shortlist of candidates for interviews. In fall 2023, the committee will select interviewees and recommend one or more finalists to the full board for its consideration.

The Board hopes to announce the president-elect in late fall or early spring. Please check this website for regular updates as the search progresses. It is common for each stage of the process to take several weeks or months.

The $400 million campaign marked the most ambitious fundraising initiative in the College's history.

More About the Campaign's Success

Site Search