Johnson-Pote Director wins Association of Art Museum Curators award for excellence

The Association of Art Museum Curators (AAMC) awarded Tracy L. Adler, Johnson-Pote Director of Hamilton College's Wellin Museum of Art, first prize in its annual Award for Excellence for an Outstanding Printed Catalogue/Publication. The prize was for the publication accompanying the exhibition Yun-Fei Ji: The Intimate Universe at the Wellin in 2016, and selection was from among organizations with budgets of less than $2 million. 

AAMC is the preeminant members' organization for curators nationwide, and its awards celebrate curatorial excellence through recognition from peer members. There are more than 400 AAMC member institutions in the United States representing all 50 states.

The publication Yun-Fei Ji: The Intimate Universe accompanied an exhibition by the same name curated by Adler and organized by the Ruth and Elmer Wellin Museum of Art at Hamilton College in 2016. The book was co-published by DelMonico Books/Prestel, a division of Random House. This richly illustrated monograph includes gatefolds with expansive running scrolls and striking details that feature the Beijing-born artist's work from the last decade. Using ink on Xuan paper as his primary medium, Ji draws stylistically from the long history of traditional Chinese painting, but reinvents the existing pictorial language by adapting it to contemporary themes. Breathing new life into an established art form, this work highlights the incongruity between an idealistic view of the world in its natural state and the impact of industrialization. With their impressionistic brushwork and original subject matter, Ji's paintings possess an immediacy and urgency that suggest a fragmented, at times surreal, contemporary landscape. The publication includes essays by Adler, Associate Professor of Asian Art History at Hamilton College Stephen J. Goldberg, and art critic Robert C. Morgan.

Our thanks to the Association of Art Museum Curators, the AAMC Foundation, and to everyone who helped with the creation of this publication. 

Click here to view the full list of award recipients published by Artnews.

Next Article
Artists in Conversation: Berni Searle
President David Wippman, South Africa Artist Berni Searle, and Smithsonian Curator Karen Milbourne speak as part of the Wellin's Artists in Conversation Series
Previous Article
The Wellin Turns Five, With Many Milestones to Celebrate

More Blog

Last Chance Exhibition Review
This Is the Day: A Student Reflects
Encouraging Experimentation in College Curriculum
Exploring Faculty Engagement at the Wellin
Design Evolution
The design minds behind the catalogue for Jeffrey Gibson: This Is the Day