Email & Network Account Options When You Leave Hamilton
Please read through all of the questions below to familiarize yourself with all your options before you take action.
When is my email account deleted?
- Employee email accounts will be deactivated at the end of the day (4:30 p.m.) on the last day of employment.
- Student and Faculty accounts will be deactivated approximately three (3) months after you graduate or leave the College.
When your account is deactivated, it is as if it has been deleted; you can no longer access your mail, no new mail is received, no mail is forwarded, and no auto-reply message is delivered. You old messages are preserved while the account is deactivated. One month later your account will be deleted and messages can no longer be retrieved.
What happens if I miss the deadline to transfer my mail to another account?
Although your account is deactivated on the deadline date, your messages are not physically removed from Google's server for another month. This allows us to easily restore your account access should you accidentally miss the deadline. After the one month grace period has passed, your mail is no longer retrievable.
How do I request an extension?
If you have extenuating circumstances that require longer access to your account, a brief extension can be granted. Please address your request to the helpdesk (email@example.com). You should include your reason for requesting the extension and the length of time it is desired.
What Happens to My Google Drive Files?
All of your Google Drive files will be removed when your email account is deleted even if you shared them with another Gmail account. To save the files you may have created or uploaded to your Google Drive, you should download them to your computer's hard drive prior to the deactivation of your account. The best way to do this is to use Google Takeout, found at https://takeout.google.com/settings/takeout. After you login, deselect all of the apps listed and then select Drive. Click on Next at the bottom of the list and then click on Create Archive. If you include other programs (like email and contacts) in the archive you are building, the time it takes will increase dramatically. The resulting file will also be very large.
How do I transfer my contacts and mail from my Hamilton email account to another account?
To transfer your contacts to another email account, you will need to export them from your Hamilton account. Please refer to the link provided below for instructions.
Exporting contacts (https://support.google.com/mail/answer/1069522?visit_id=1-636193108198603479-4221717503&rd=1)
To move existing email from your Hamilton account into another account before your Hamilton account is deactivated please refer to note below before proceeding to the link for instructions.
Please note: Google has its own mechanism for transferring mail to another account that is built-in to your account but it can take weeks to complete. Furthermore, Google will not alert you if the transfer fails. Failures do occur and are unpredictable. The method we recommend takes only a short while to complete, allows you to immediately confirm whether you have all of your mail, and allows you to skip damaged messages that might cause problems.
Instructions for transferring email from Hamilton to another account (http://hamilton.edu/offices/lits/rc/transferring-emails-using-thunderbird)
How do I forward my Hamilton email to another account?
Unless you are up against your deactivation deadline, once you have transferred your mail to your non-Hamilton account, it is wise to start forwarding incoming Hamilton mail to your other account at the same time. When forwarding is turned on it only forwards mail received from that point forward. To transfer mail previously received, please see the section above. For instructions explaining how to set up forwarding, please refer to Google's help page at: http://mail.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?answer=10957
How do I set up an auto-reply that will send correspondents my new address?
NOTE: Your auto-reply will end when your email account is deactivated! The sooner you set this up, the better.
What happens to the files I stored on the Hamilton Server (ESS/SSS)?
If you have personal files stored on either the Employee server (ESS) or the Student Server (SSS), they will remain available to you via the "Files" tab in My Hamilton until your account is deactivated (faculty and staff) or until mid-June (graduates). Although the files you have stored on our servers are backed up, the backup tapes are only retained for a few months. Therefore, the sooner you move your files off the server the better. If you need assistance moving your files, please contact the LITS Help Desk at 315-859-4181.
If you have questions regarding your Hamilton email account or your network files, please feel free to contact the LITS Help Desk at firstname.lastname@example.org or call 315-859-4181.