Facebook pixel tracker
DCF94280-E8F7-F166-A62F886D097067AC
DCFF9E2B-B51D-E7A3-835D5B7810D57689

Meet Our Faculty

Chris Burwick

Chris Burwick, Visiting Assistant Professor of German Studies

wburwick@hamilton.edu
B.A., Pitzer College; M.A., Humboldt Universität zu Berlin; M.A., University of Washington; Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Alan Cafruny

Alan Cafruny, the Henry Platt Bristol Professor of International Relations

acafruny@hamilton.edu
B.A., Kenyon College; M.Sc., University of London; M.A. and Ph.D., Cornell University
Areas of expertise: international political economy, European politics, U.S. foreign policy
John Eldevik

John Eldevik, Associate Professor of History

jeldevik@hamilton.edu
B.A., Pomona College; M.A. and Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles
Areas of expertise: social and economic history of the early Middle Ages, history of law and mechanisms of conflict resolution, and the perceptions of non-Christian peoples and lands in medieval manuscript culture
Robert Hopkins

Robert Hopkins, Associate Professor of Music

rhopkins@hamilton.edu
B.A., Oberlin College; M.A. and Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Areas of expertise: closure in music, codas and their function in sonata-form movements, musical parameters and the perception of musical form, critical and structural analysis of the music of Beethoven, Schubert, Brahms and Mahler; barbershop quartet music and style

Joseph Malloy, Associate Professor of German Emeritus (retired)

jmalloy@hamilton.edu
A.B. and A.M., State University of New York at Binghamton; Ph.D., University of Virginia
Edith Toegel

Edith Toegel, Associate Professor of German Studies Emerita (retired)

etoegel@hamilton.edu
B.A., Tufts University; M.A., Tufts University; Ph.D., University of Washington
Areas of expertise: 19th-century and contemporary Austrian literature, mostly by women

Contact Information


German Studies Program

198 College Hill Road
Clinton, NY 13323
Back to Top