Townsquare/Dstillery pixel

The Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press will be honoring Bruce W. Sanford ’67 with a 2014 First Amendment Award on May 19 at The Pierre in New York City. Along with four other leaders in journalism and media law, Sanford will be recognized for his work at the forefront of American media law and as one of the most accomplished press lawyers in the nation. The Washington D.C. attorney has represented major media outlets including television networks, newspapers, book publishers, and such authors as Bill Clinton, Barbara Bush, and John Grisham..

Sanford will receive the award along with Sharon Percy Rockefeller, president and CEO of WETA; Carol Rosenberg, military affairs correspondent for the Miami Herald; and Arthur Sulzberger Jr., the chairman and publisher for The New York Times. The RCFP is “delighted to recognize their important work with First Amendment Awards,” said Reporters Committee Chair Saundra Torry, editorial writer and board member at USA TODAY.

Sanford graduated from Hamilton in 1967 with a double major in Government and English Literature. Active in civic life in Washington, Palm Beach, and Nantucket, he is a partner at the national law firm Baker Hostetler LLP.

For more information about the First Amendment Award please visit:

The $400 million campaign to provide students with a life-altering education.

Learn More About the Campaign

Site Search