David Wippman.
The Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities (CICU) elected Hamilton College President David Wippman as one of nine new members to its board of trustees at the commission’s 65th Annual Meeting on Tuesday, March 2.

CICU’s board of trustees represents executive-level participation from colleges and universities in every region of New York State and highlights the diversity of institution type and size within the state’s independent sector of higher education.

“Each of the new board members will be instrumental in the leadership and guidance provided by the Board of Trustees,” said Drew Bogner, interim CICU president. “In a year of immense challenges facing higher education, the diversity in perspectives will allow CICU to continue to best advocate for our sector and students. I thank each of these leaders for their commitment and service to the higher education community in New York State.”

The eight other appointed board members include presidents of Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, Boricua College, Dominican College, Hobart & William Smith Colleges, Marymount Manhattan College, St. Joseph’s College, Touro College, and Vassar College. The nine new members of CICU’s board of trustees join 16 existing members, all of whom serve three-year terms. 

Founded in 1956, CICU in New York represents the chief executives of New York’s 100+ independent (private, not-for-profit) colleges and universities on issues of public policy. Member colleges comprise the largest private sector of higher education in the world and confer 50 percent of bachelor’s degrees, 73 percent of master’s degrees, and 79 percent of doctoral and first-professional degrees earned in New York State.


Help us provide an accessible education, offer innovative resources and programs, and foster intellectual exploration.

Site Search