History Professor Douglas Ambrose Appointed to Wertimer Chair

Hamilton College President Eugene M. Tobin has announced the appointment of Associate Professor of History Douglas Ambrose to the Sidney Wertimer Jr. Chair at Hamilton. The appointment to the chair is made by the president, on the advice of Vice President and Dean of the Faculty David C. Paris.

"From the very first day that he stepped into a Hamilton classroom, Doug Ambrose has earned his students' and colleagues' respect and admiration for his integrity, sensitivity and openness," said Tobin. "In the tradition of Sidney Wertimer, scores of Hamilton graduates have learned from Doug in ways that will shape their lives for years to come."

The Wertimer Chair is awarded to a faculty member with a distinguished record of teaching and scholarship whose relationship with students reflects an expansive commitment to advising beyond the traditional boundaries of coursework and office hours.  In naming the chair in honor of Professor Sidney Wertimer, who has been teaching at Hamilton for 50 years, the college's alumni donors wished to honor and affirm the continuing role of faculty as lifelong mentors and advisors.  The Wertimer Chair, established in 1989, was held previously by Professor of Sociology Dan Chambliss.

Ambrose, a professor at Hamilton since 1990, holds a Ph.D. in history from the State University of New York at Binghamton, a master's degree from the University of Rochester, and a bachelor's degree from Rutgers University. His teaching and research interests include American history, biography, early America and the Old South.

Ambrose is the author of Henry Hughes and Proslavery Thought in the Old South (Louisiana State University Press, 1996). In addition, he has written numerous articles, book reviews and encyclopedia entries about Southern slavery and Southern intellectual life. Ambrose received the Mellon Research Fellowship in 1992 from the Virginia Historical Society and the Class of 1963 Excellence in Teaching Award at Hamilton. He will hold the Wertimer Chair for a five-year term.

Back to Top