Sigma Xi Elects 39 New Members - Hamilton College
Public Events
Public Events Calendar >>

RSS Feed       

Media Relations
Sigma Xi inductees.
Sigma Xi inductees.

Sigma Xi Elects 39 New Members

Posted May 22, 2009
Tags 2009 Sigma Xi
The Hamilton College chapter of Sigma Xi, the scientific research society, elected 32 students and three alumni to associate membership and four faculty to full membership on May 11.

Students elected from the Class of 2009 are: Katherine Alser, Leeann Brigham, Louisa Brown, William Caffry, Abigail Crimmins, Matthew Crowson, Timothy Currier, Mikel Etchegaray, Michael Flanders, Lisa Fontes, Gregory Fullman, Peter Gerrity, David Hamilton, Michael Hannan, Rachael Anna Horowitz, Julia Houlden, Thomas Irvin, Amy Klockowski, Julia MacDougall, Allison Mandel, Kathryn Manning, Timothy Minella, Jared Pienkos, Avery Rizio, Jessica Ruddiman, Benjamin Saccomano, Jessica Salwen, Emma Stewart, Benjamin Van Arnam, Kristin Webster, Peter Woodruff. New members from the Class of 2008 are Taylor Burt, Timothy Fox and Kimberly Roe. Faculty members are Myriam Cotten, John Edlund, Lynn Evans, and Danyang Yu.

The Hamilton College chapter includes members of the science faculties of Colgate University and Utica College. Amanda Butler, a recent graduate of Utica College was elected to associate membership.

Sigma Xi facilitates a variety of activities that support scientific research. Best known are the award-winning interdisciplinary journal, American Scientist, and the Grants-in-Aid of Research program that has awarded funds to graduate and undergraduate students in a highly competitive pool of applications for 88 years.


No comments yet.