DCF94280-E8F7-F166-A62F886D097067AC
DCFF9E2B-B51D-E7A3-835D5B7810D57689

Meet Our Faculty

A

Vivyan Adair

Vivyan Adair, Professor of Women’s and Gender Studies

vadair@hamilton.edu
B.A., M.A. and Ph.D., University of Washington, Seattle
Areas of expertise: women’s studies; race, class, gender, sexuality and nation; comparative literature and theories of composition and rhetoric; sexuality studies; welfare reform, education and public policy
Abhishek Amar

Abhishek Amar, Associate Professor of Religious Studies

aamar@hamilton.edu
B.A., Dyal Singh College; M.A. and M.Phil., Jawaharlal Nehru University; Ph.D., University of London
Areas of expertise: archaeological history of South Asian religions, especially Buddhist and Hindu traditions; research in themes of inter-religious dynamics, syncretism and religious transformation; colonialism and reconfigurations of sacred centers; and religion and water management in the Buddhist and Hindu traditions
Marissa Ambio

Marissa Ambio, Assistant Professor of Hispanic Studies

mambio@hamilton.edu
B.A., Williams College; M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., Columbia University; Columbia University
Douglas Ambrose

Douglas Ambrose, the Carolyn C. and David M. Ellis ’38 Distinguished Teaching Professor of History

dambrose@hamilton.edu
B.A., Rutgers University; M.A., University of Rochester; Ph.D., State University of New York at Binghamton
Areas of expertise: U.S. history, the old South, Christianity in American history, American colonial history, the American founding era and proslavery thought
Frank Anechiarico

Frank Anechiarico, the Maynard-Knox Professor of Law

fanechia@hamilton.edu
A.B., Hamilton College; A.M. and Ph.D., Indiana University
Areas of expertise: public administration, public ethics and law and society

B

Stephanie Bahr

Stephanie Bahr, Assistant Professor of Literature

sbahr@hamilton.edu
B.A., Mount Allison University; Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
David Bailey

David Bailey, Chair, Professor of Geosciences

dbailey@hamilton.edu
B.S., Bates College; M.S., Dalhousie University; Ph.D., Washington State University
Areas of expertise: geochemistry and petrogenesis of Miocene volcanic rocks in the Powder River Volcanic Field, history of igneous and tectonic activity in the northeastern United States, the mineralogy of New York State
Mark Bailey

Mark Bailey, Chair, Professor of Computer Science

mbailey@hamilton.edu
B.A., University of Massachusetts, Amherst; M.C.S. and Ph.D., University of Virginia
Areas of expertise: the boundary between hardware and software, including program optimization, embedded systems, computer architecture and computer security
Erol Balkan

Erol Balkan, Professor of Economics

ebalkan@hamilton.edu
B.A. and M.A., University of North Carolina at Greensboro; Ph.D., State University of New York at Binghamton
Areas of expertise: formation of middle classes in developing countries, effects of short-term capital flows on the Turkish economy and economic development, international finance and political economy of the Middle East
next page
Back to Top