DCF94280-E8F7-F166-A62F886D097067AC
DCFF9E2B-B51D-E7A3-835D5B7810D57689

Meet Our Faculty

Douglas Ambrose

Douglas Ambrose, the Carolyn C. and David M. Ellis ’38 Distinguished Teaching Professor of History

dambrose@hamilton.edu
B.A., Rutgers University; M.A., University of Rochester; Ph.D., State University of New York at Binghamton
Areas of expertise: U.S. history, the old South, Christianity in American history, American colonial history, the American founding era and proslavery thought
Mackenzie Cooley

Mackenzie Cooley, Assistant Professor of History

mcooley@hamilton.edu
B.A., Cornell University; M.A., Ph.D., Stanford University
Areas of expertise: history of science; early modern world; Colonial Latin America; environmental history; intellectual history; digital humanities; history of gender and sexuality; animal studies; genetics and history
John Eldevik

John Eldevik, Associate Professor of History

jeldevik@hamilton.edu
B.A., Pomona College; M.A. and Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles
Areas of expertise: social and economic history of the early Middle Ages, history of law and mechanisms of conflict resolution, and the perceptions of non-Christian peoples and lands in medieval manuscript culture
Kevin Grant

Kevin Grant, Chair, the Edgar B. Graves Professor of History

kgrant@hamilton.edu
B.A., University of California, Berkeley; M.A., University of Chicago; Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Areas of expertise: the British Empire, modern Britain and Ireland and international humanitarianism
Maurice Isserman

Maurice Isserman, the Publius Virgilius Rogers Professor of American History

misserma@hamilton.edu
B.A., Reed College; M.A. and Ph.D., University of Rochester
Areas of expertise: 20th century American radical movements, history of the 1960s and the history of mountaineering and exploration
Shoshana Keller

Shoshana Keller, Professor of History

skeller@hamilton.edu
B.A., Carleton College; M.A. and Ph.D., Indiana University
Areas of expertise: Russian and Soviet history, Central Eurasian history, and history of the modern Middle East
Celeste Day Moore

Celeste Day Moore, Assistant Professor of History

cdmoore@hamilton.edu
B.A., Haverford College; A.M. and Ph.D., University of Chicago
Areas of expertise: African-American history, diasporic and transnational history, race and empire in twentieth-century U.S. and France
Peter Simons

Peter Simons, Visiting Assistant Professor of History

psimons@hamilton.edu
B.A., Calvin College; M.P.P., University of Michigan-Ann Arbor; M.A., University of Maine-Orono; Ph.D., University of Chicago
Areas of expertise: U.S. environmental history, history of food and agriculture and historical geography
Lisa Trivedi

Lisa Trivedi, Professor of History

ltrivedi@hamilton.edu
B.A., Hampshire College; M.A., University of Chicago; Ph.D., University of California, Davis
Areas of expertise: cultural and social history of modern South Asia, specializing in the history of nationalism, colonialism and women
Thomas Wilson

Thomas Wilson, the Elizabeth J. McCormack Professor of History

twilson@hamilton.edu
B.A., University of Connecticut; A.M. and Ph.D., University of Chicago
Areas of expertise: Chinese history, culture and religion; Confucian ritual and the imperial cults devoted to Heaven and to Confucius
next page

Contact Information


History Department

198 College Hill Road
Clinton, NY 13323
315-859-4404 315-859-4649 history@hamilton.edu
Back to Top