DCF94280-E8F7-F166-A62F886D097067AC
DCFF9E2B-B51D-E7A3-835D5B7810D57689

Meet Our Faculty

Douglas Ambrose, the Carolyn C. and David M. Ellis ’38 Distinguished Teaching Professor of History

dambrose@hamilton.edu
B.A., Rutgers University; M.A., University of Rochester; Ph.D., State University of New York at Binghamton
Areas of expertise: U.S. history, the old South, Christianity in American history, American colonial history, the American founding era and proslavery thought

Pankhuree Dube, Visiting Assistant Professor of History and Postdoctoral Fellow in Asian Studies

pdube@hamilton.edu
B.A., Boise State University; M.A., PhD., Emory University

John Eldevik, Associate Professor of History

jeldevik@hamilton.edu
B.A., Pomona College; M.A. and Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles
Areas of expertise: social and economic history of the early Middle Ages, history of law and mechanisms of conflict resolution and the perceptions of non-Christian peoples and lands in medieval manuscript culture

Kevin Grant, Chair, the Elias W. Leavenworth Professor of History

kgrant@hamilton.edu
B.A., University of California, Berkeley; M.A., University of Chicago; Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Areas of expertise: the British Empire, modern Britain and Ireland and international humanitarianism

Maurice Isserman, the Publius Virgilius Rogers Professor of American History

misserma@hamilton.edu
B.A., Reed College; M.A., University of Rochester; Ph.D., University of Rochester
Areas of expertise: 20th century American radical movements, history of the 1960s and the history of mountaineering and exploration

Shoshana Keller, Professor of History

skeller@hamilton.edu
B.A., Carleton College; M.A., Indiana University; Ph.D., Indiana University
Areas of expertise: Russian and Soviet history, Central Eurasian history and history of the modern Middle East

Alfred Kelly, the Edgar B. Graves Professor of History

akelly@hamilton.edu
B.A., University of Chicago; M.A., University of Wisconsin; Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
Areas of expertise: Modern European history, modern German history, history of European ideas and history of science

Faiza Moatasim, Postdoctoral Fellow in Asian Studies and Visiting Assistant Professor of History

fmoatasi@hamilton.edu
B.Arch., National College of Arts, Pakistan; M.Arch., McGill University; Ph.D., University of Michigan

Celeste Day Moore, Assistant Professor of History

cdmoore@hamilton.edu
B.A., Haverford College; A.M. and Ph.D., University of Chicago
Areas of expertise: African-American history, diasporic and transnational history, race and empire in twentieth-century U.S. and France

Robert Paquette, Professor of History

rpaquett@hamilton.edu
A.B. and A.M., Bowling Green University; Ph.D., University of Rochester
Areas of expertise: The Old South, colonial Cuba, United States history to 1865, slavery, colonial Latin America, cross-cultural history, Atlantic world, 1450-1900, age of European expansion, conservative political thought, history of property
next page

Contact Information


History Department

198 College Hill Road
Clinton, NY 13323
315-859-4404 315-859-4649 history@hamilton.edu
Back to Top