DCF94280-E8F7-F166-A62F886D097067AC
DCFF9E2B-B51D-E7A3-835D5B7810D57689

Meet Our Faculty

John Bartle

John Bartle, Associate Professor of Russian Languages and Literatures

jbartle@hamilton.edu
B.A., Rutgers University; M.A. and Ph.D., Indiana University
Areas of expertise: translation studies, refugee studies, 19th-century Russian literature, Russian film, English as a second language and outreach programs, especially in Utica, N.Y.
Jason Cieply

Jason Cieply, Assistant Professor of German and Russian Languages and Literatures

jcieply@hamilton.edu
B.A., Kenyon College; M.A., Ph.D., Stanford University
Areas of expertise: Soviet and post-Soviet society and culture, film, performance, popular music, contemporary poetry, affect, narrative theory, media, Russian political thought, post-socialism
Shoshana Keller

Shoshana Keller, Professor of History

skeller@hamilton.edu
B.A., Carleton College; M.A. and Ph.D., Indiana University
Areas of expertise: Russian and Soviet history, Central Eurasian history, and history of the modern Middle East
David Rivera

David Rivera, Visiting Assistant Professor of Government

drivera@hamilton.edu
A.B., Harvard University; M.A. and Ph.D., University of Michigan
Areas of expertise: the international politics of Eurasia, post-communist democratization, and the composition of the Russian elite.
Sharon Werning Rivera

Sharon Werning Rivera, Chair, Professor of Government

srivera@hamilton.edu
B.A., University of California at Davis; M.A., Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS); M.A. and Ph.D., University of Michigan
Areas of expertise: post-communist democratization, the composition of the Russian elite, elite survey research, and the diffusion of ideas
Frank Sciacca

Frank Sciacca, Associate Professor of Russian Languages & Literatures (retired)

fsciacca@hamilton.edu
B.A., M.A. and Ph.D., Columbia University
Areas of expertise: Russian language, 20th-century Russian literature and art, Russian Orthodox Church, Russian and Ukrainian folklore and folk culture, food politics and culture

Contact Information


Russian Studies Program

198 College Hill Road
Clinton, NY 13323
315-859-4782 jbartle@hamilton.edu
Back to Top