Townsquare/Dstillery pixel
Commencement is one of the most important moments in the academic year and a time of celebration on The Hill.
  • 2022: Gillian Zucker ’90, president of business operations for the NBA’s LA Clippers
  • 2021: Ty Seidule, professor emeritus of military history at West Point and the inaugural Chamberlain Fellow at Hamilton
  • 2019: Freeman Hrabowski, President of the University of Maryland, Baltimore County
  • 2018: Darren Walker, Ford Foundation President
  • 2017: Charlie Baker, Governor of Massachusetts
  • 2016: Peter Thiel, co-founder of PayPal
  • 2015: Philip Murphy, former United States Ambassador to Germany
  • 2014: Christopher Dickey, award winning author and journalist
  • 2013: Thomas Tull ’92, founder, chairman and CEO of Legendary Pictures
  • 2012: A.G. Lafley ’69, former chairman and CEO of Procter & Gamble
  • 2011: Al Gore, 45th vice president of the United States
  • 2010: Jeffrey Immelt, chairman and CEO of General Electric
  • 2009: Cathie Black, president of Hearst Magazine
  • 2008: Henry Paulson, Jr., U.S. Treasury Secretary
  • 2007: Richard Haass, president of the Council on Foreign Relations
  • 2006: Anna Quindlen, award winning author and journalist
  • 2005: Kurt Schmoke, former mayor of Baltimore
  • 2004: Mike Castle ’61, Delware congressman 
  • 2003: Jim Lehrer, PBS News anchor
  • 2002: Christine Todd Whitman, former Governor of New Jersey
  • 2001: Tom Vilsack ’72, former Governor of Iowa
  • 2000: Brian Urquhart, former U.N. Undersecretary
  • 1999: Henry Louis Gates, Jr., literary critic and Professor at Harvard University
  • 1998: Jessica Mathews, president of International Peace Endowment
  • 1997: Bill Bradley, former U.S. Senator and NBA All-Star
  • 1996: David McCullough, author and biographer

The $400 million campaign to provide students with a life-altering education.

Learn More About the Campaign

Site Search