Men's crew races at national invitational championships

Hamilton College placed sixth in the varsity eight third final at the 2013 Eastern College Athletic Conference National Invitational Rowing Championships on Lake Quinsigamond in Worcester, Mass., on May 12.

The racing conditions for the morning's heats were cloudy with occasional showers, calm winds and temperatures in the 50s. For the afternoon's finals, it was sunny, breezy and temperatures were in the 60s. All races were 2,000 meters in length.

Hamilton's varsity eight completed the race in 6 minutes, 26.082 seconds. Coast Guard finished first in the third final with a time of 6:08.849. Sawyer Konys '16 served as the coxswain, Jared Lippman '16 was in the stroke seat and Dylan Jackson '13 was in the bow seat. Seats seven through two in descending order were as follows:  Charlie Wilson '16, Aaron Whiteman '13, Landon Morin '16, Patrick English '15, Max Geiduschek '14 and Grant Meglis '14.

Hamilton’s second varsity eight was runner-up in the third final in a time of 6:43.913. Coast Guard captured first place again in 6:35.054. Hamilton posted a time of 6:35.319 in the morning heats. Monica Gutierrez '15 was the coxswain, Jake Wagner '15 was in the stroke seat and Gardner Reed '14 was in the bow seat. The rest of the boat included (seats seven through two in descending order):  Alex Cates '15, Philip Ewing '15, Kyle Leahy '14, Max Luthringer '16, Simon Judd '13 and Andrew Szatkowski '15.

Hamilton also rowed in the open fours and took seventh place with a time of 7:41.104. Trinity College finished first and covered the course in 7:05.839. Jack Cavanaugh '16 was the coxswain, Marc Horschman '16 was stroke seat and Ronald Sprague '16 was in the bow. Russ DeGrazia '15 was 3-seat and Alec Melone '16 was 2-seat.

Back to Top