Men's swimmers honored by NESCAC

Five Hamilton College men's swimmers have earned 2009-10 New England Small College Athletic Conference all-conference team honors.

The top three finishers in each event at the 2010 NESCAC men's swimming and diving championships receive all-conference recognition. The meet concluded on Feb. 28.

Jake DeConinck '11 (Windsor, Conn./Loomis Chaffee School), Taylor Hogenkamp '13 (East Aurora, N.Y./East Aurora HS), Jared Mereness '10 (Farmington, N.Y./Victor HS) and Bowie Sievers '11 (Baltimore, Md./Towson HS) finished third in the 800-yard freestyle relay on Feb. 27. Their time of 6:55.58 was good enough to make a provisional cut for the NCAA Division III championships.

Mereness was runner-up in the 100 breaststroke on Feb. 27, and Ian Nichols '13 (Freeport, Maine/North Yarmouth Academy) captured second place in the 50 breast on Feb. 26. Mereness made another provisional cut in the 100 breast with a time of 58.09 seconds. Nichols' time of 26.60 seconds in the 50 breast eclipsed the previous school record of 26.94 seconds, which was set by Mereness in 2009.

DeConinck and Sievers were on the all-NESCAC team last season for the 800 free relay. Sievers also made the list for the 400 individual medley. Mereness was all-NESCAC in 2007-08 for his performance in the 100 breast.

Back to Top