Hamilton is often associated with long winters, but for the College’s Club Nordic Ski team the snow is the best thing to come back to after winter break.

Hamilton’s Nordic team is a member of the Mideast Conference of the United States Collegiate Ski and Snowboard Association (USCSA) and regularly competes against club teams in the New York and New England area.

Nordic skiing includes two distinct styles skate and classic style; skate resembling ice-skating and classic using a running motion. Most races use just one style, but there are races where skiers switch styles halfway.

Before coming to Hamilton, Ellie Pinto ’18 had never skied but thought it would be a fun sport given Hamilton’s snowy reputation. Since then, she’s been an active team member and is now a team captain.

“Everyone was willing to help and teach me, despite my lack of experience. Everyone at races- opponents, officials, etc. – are all supportive,” said the St. Louis native.

For senior Rebecca Gorlin ’17 from Hopkins, Minn., ski racing has been a life-long hobby. Gorlin, who raced competitively in high school, joined the team immediately, “I was a Jan (admit) and the Nordic team seemed like a great way to meet people while being part of a sport I knew and adored.”

Over break, most of the team is cross-training for the upcoming season. Pinto, a varsity crew captain, is following her strengthening program which involves lifting, erging, and running. Since St. Louis isn’t too snowy she hasn’t been able to ski but is looking forward to getting back to it.

Up in Minnesota, Gorlin spent a week skiing on the Gunflint trail in the northeastern part of the state and is looking to make the most of her senior season. Other members have been skiing at their local ski centers and backyard trails, getting ready for the season.

Nordic Ski Team captains are Ellie Pinto ’18 and Dan Wall ’19 and other members are: Clare Nicholson ’20, Emma Stout ’20, Olivia Box ’17, Emma Weller ’19, Katie Guzzetta ’18, Rebecca Gorlin ’17, Alex Stetter ’20, Jack Hay ’19, Paul Magnus ’18, Abby Counihan ’18, Erin Walicki ’20, Harry Thomas ’18, Lydia Connolly ’20, Meg Riley ’17, Robert Welch  ’20 and Emmaline Keene ’20. 

Help us provide an accessible education, offer innovative resources and programs, and foster intellectual exploration.

Site Search