The 2015 Tobin Award winners Norm Bramley, Phyllis Breland '80 and Terry Lapinski.
The 2015 Tobin Award winners Norm Bramley, Phyllis Breland '80 and Terry Lapinski.

The winners of the Beverly S. and Eugene M. Tobin Employee Awards were announced and employees celebrating milestone service anniversaries were honored at Hamilton’s 31st annual employee service recognition luncheon on May 18 on Dunham Green.

President Joan Hinde Stewart presented the awards to Norm Bramley, master maintenance mechanic in  Physical Plant in the Maintenance and Operations group; Phyllis Breland ’80, director of Opportunity Programs, who received the honor in the Administrator category; and Terry Lapinski,  assistant to the vice president for Libraries & Information Technology and technology support assistant, who was recognized in the Staff category.

Employees who had achieved 10, 20 and 30 years of service to the College were also recognized.

Stephen Pullman science technician was honored for 30 years of service. 

Employees celebrating 20 years of service were David Aversa, master maintenance mechanic; Jay Bonham, associate dean of admission; Meredith Harper Bonham, senior associate dean of students for strategic initiatives; Thomas Bourgeois, master maintenance mechanic; Susan Campanie, events administrator in the President’s office; Irene Cornish, director of auxiliary services; Donald Croft, grounds services manager; Robert Evans, custodian foreperson; Stacey Himmelberger, senior director of communications, content and strategy and editor of the Hamilton Alumni Review; Terry Lapinski; LaurieAnn Russell, associate director of alumni relations and director of affinity programs; Richard Tantillo, vice president for communications and development; and Jean Williams, principal catalog librarian.

Those recognized for  10 years of service were: Vige Barrie, senior director of media relations; Linda Brennan, library office coordinator; Elizabeth Brotherton,  music library coordinator and circulation assistant; Melissa Cannistra, financial analyst; Ray Cyr, painter; Christpher Forte,  desktop systems administrator; Carol Kentile, academic budget manager; Erika Klar, major gift officer; Mark Monty, director of major gifts; Michael Neidhart, mechanic foreperson; Katrina Schell, circulation and interlibrary loan assistant;  Heather Wixson, associate director, Career and Life Outcomes Center; Steven Young, Unix and HPC system administrator; and Sara Ziesenitz, associate dean of admission.

The Tobin Employee Awards were instituted in 2006 to annually recognize one representative from each of the College’s three non-faculty groups of employees: administrators, staff members and maintenance and operations workers. Monetary awards are made each year from an employee-generated fund established in 2003 to honor Gene Tobin, Hamilton College’s 18th president, and his wife Beverly. The fund recognizes the couple’s 23 years of service to the Hamilton community.

Help us provide an accessible education, offer innovative resources and programs, and foster intellectual exploration.

Site Search