Women's swimmer claims another all-America award - Hamilton College
91B0FBB4-04A9-D5D7-16F0F3976AA697ED
C9A22247-E776-B892-2D807E7555171534

Women's swimmer claims another all-America award


Maggie Rosenbaum '14
Maggie Rosenbaum '14

Hamilton College's Maggie Rosenbaum '14 came up just short in her bid for a three-peat national title in the 100-yard backstroke at the 2013 NCAA Division III Swimming and Diving Championships at the Conroe Natatorium in Shenandoah, Texas, on March 22.

Live results

Rosenbaum finished second and broke her own team record in the 100 back with a time of 54.18 seconds in Friday night's championship final. She captured NCAA titles in the event in 2011 and 2012. Kenyon College's Celia Oberholzer finished first with a Division III record time of 53.46 seconds. The old national record of 53.85 seconds had stood since 2008.

Rosenbaum was in second place after 50 yards with a time of 26.33 seconds, and posted a time of 27.85 seconds in the final 50. Oberholzer recorded a time of 26.07 seconds in the first 50 yards.

Rosenbaum's program record in the 100 back before this meet was 54.70 seconds, which was set at the 2013 NESCAC Championship in February. She shattered that mark in Friday morning's preliminary heats with a time of 54.38 seconds, and lowered it again in the finals.

Rosenbaum earned the fifth all-America award of her Hamilton career and the second this week. She finished fourth in the 100 butterfly on Thursday night. All eight swimmers that compete in the championship final receive all-America honors.

Rosenbaum will go for the sixth all-America award of her college career on Saturday, March 23, when she competes in the 200 back. The preliminary heats start at 11 a.m. Eastern (10 a.m. Central), and the finals begin at 7 p.m. Eastern (6 p.m. Central).

Contact Information


Media Relations Office

198 College Hill Road 
Clinton, NY 13323
315-859-4680 pr@hamilton.edu
Back to Top