DCF94280-E8F7-F166-A62F886D097067AC
DCFF9E2B-B51D-E7A3-835D5B7810D57689

Meet Our Faculty

Abhishek Amar

Abhishek Amar, Associate Professor of Religious Studies

aamar@hamilton.edu
B.A., Dyal Singh College; M.A. and M.Phil., Jawaharlal Nehru University; Ph.D., University of London
Areas of expertise: archaeological history of South Asian religions, especially Buddhist and Hindu traditions; research in themes of inter-religious dynamics, syncretism and religious transformation; colonialism and reconfigurations of sacred centers; and religion and water management in the Buddhist and Hindu traditions
Alexsia Chan

Alexsia Chan, Assistant Professor of Government

axchan@hamilton.edu
B.A., Rutgers University; M.A., Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Steve Goldberg

Steve Goldberg, Associate Professor of Art History

B.A., Brooklyn College of the City University of New York; M.A., University of Hawai'i; Ph.D., University of Michigan
Areas of expertise: Chinese art, Japanese art and aesthetics
Masaaki Kamiya

Masaaki Kamiya, Associate Professor of Japanese

mkamiya@hamilton.edu
B.A., Dokkyo University; M.Ed., East Carolina University; Ph.D., University of Maryland
Areas of expertise: syntax, semantics, language acquisition, pragmatic and Japanese linguistics
Kyoko Omori

Kyoko Omori, Associate Professor of Japanese

komori@hamilton.edu
M.A. and Ph.D., Ohio State University
Areas of expertise: modern Japanese literature, especially modernism and youth magazine culture; early 20th-century media, especially cinema and radio; and censorship and the Occupation Era, 1945-52
Julie Starr

Julie Starr, Assistant Professor of Anthropology

jstarr@hamilton.edu
B.A., B.S., and M.A., Ohio State University; M.A. and Ph.D., University of Virginia
Areas of expertise: China, East Asia, cultural anthropology; bodies, gender, race; food, urban ethnography, consumer culture, comparative ethnography, history of anthropology
Lisa Trivedi

Lisa Trivedi, Professor of History

ltrivedi@hamilton.edu
B.A., Hampshire College; M.A., University of Chicago; Ph.D., University of California, Davis
Areas of expertise: cultural and social history of modern South Asia, specializing in the history of nationalism, colonialism and women
Zhuoyi Wang

Zhuoyi Wang, Associate Professor of East Asian Languages and Literatures

zwang@hamilton.edu
B.A., and M.A., Beijing University; Ph.D., University of Washington
Areas of expertise: Chinese cinema and literature
Thomas Wilson

Thomas Wilson, the Elizabeth J. McCormack Professor of History

twilson@hamilton.edu
B.A., University of Connecticut; A.M. and Ph.D., University of Chicago
Areas of expertise: Chinese history, culture and religion; Confucian ritual and the imperial cults devoted to Heaven and to Confucius
next page

Contact Information


Asian Studies Program

198 College Hill Road
Clinton, NY 13323
315-859-4236 315-859-4390 asianstudies@hamilton.edu
Back to Top