DCF94280-E8F7-F166-A62F886D097067AC
DCFF9E2B-B51D-E7A3-835D5B7810D57689

Meet Our Faculty

Wei-Jen Chang, Sidney Wertimer Associate Professor of Biology for Excellence in Advising & Mentorship

wchang@hamilton.edu
B.S., National Taiwan University; M.S. and Ph.D., State University of New York at Buffalo
Areas of expertise: molecular biology, molecular evolution, genome structures and bioinformatics

Simon Coppard, Visiting Assistant Professor of Biology

scoppard@hamilton.edu
B.Sc. and Ph.D., University of London
Areas of expertise: marine biology, coral reef ecology, invertebrate zoology, speciation, molecular phylogenetics and evolution, next-generation sequencing, echinoid systematics

Cynthia Downs, Assistant Professor of Biology

cdowns@hamilton.edu
B.S., State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry; Ph. D., University of Nevada
Areas of expertise: ecoimmunology, vertebrate physiology and evolutionary physiology

Jessica Fellmeth, Visiting Assistant Professor of Biology

jfellmet@hamilton.edu
B.S., The College of New Jersey; Ph.D., Rutgers University
Areas of expertise: Molecular genetics and microbiology

David Gapp, the Silas D. Childs Professor of Biology

dgapp@hamilton.edu
B.S. and A.M., College of William and Mary; Ph.D., Boston University
Areas of expertise: endocrinology of reptiles, with a focus on the action and evolution of gastrointestinal and pancreatic hormones

Herman Lehman, Professor of Biology

hlehman@hamilton.edu
B.S., University of West Florida; Ph.D., Florida State University
Areas of expertise: cellular neurobiology and neuroethology; measurement and detection of neurotransmitters; isolation and identification of novel chemical messengers; cellular metabolism in the nervous system

Mike McCormick, Chair, Associate Professor of Biology

mmccormi@hamilton.edu
B.S., Ohio State University; M.S., University of Michigan; Ph.D., University of Michigan
Areas of expertise: environmental geomicrobiology, specifically cell/mineral interactions; fate of environmental contaminants; solid-state respiration by bacteria; and molecular microbial ecology

William Pfitsch, Associate Professor of Biology

wpfitsch@hamilton.edu
B.A., Oberlin College; M.S., University of Washington; Ph.D., University of Washington
Areas of expertise: the biology, ecology, physiological ecology and physiology of plants; community, ecosystem and invasive plant ecologies; habitat restoration; tropical and alpine ecologies; and biology teaching

Patrick Reynolds, the Stone Professor of Natural History

preynold@hamilton.edu
B.Sc., National University of Ireland, Galway; Ph.D., University of Victoria
Areas of expertise: marine invertebrate biology, particularly the evolution of Mollusca

Mark Sasaki, Visiting Assistant Professor of Biology

msasaki@hamilton.edu
B.A., Oberlin College; Ph.D., University of Chicago
Areas of expertise: cancer biology
next page

Contact Information


Biology Department

198 College Hill Road
Clinton, NY 13323
315-859-4367 315-859-4807 biology@hamilton.edu
Back to Top