DCF94280-E8F7-F166-A62F886D097067AC
DCFF9E2B-B51D-E7A3-835D5B7810D57689

Meet Our Faculty

Heather Buchman, Chair, Professor of Music

hbuchman@hamilton.edu
B.M., Eastman School of Music; M.M., University of Michigan; Professional Studies in Conducting, The Julliard School
Areas of expertise: 0rchestral repertoire and conducting, ballet and opera conducting, trombone and low brass, solo performance, 20th- and 21st-century music

Ryan Carter, Visiting Assistant Professor of Music

rccarter@hamilton.edu
B.Mus., Oberlin College Conservatory of Music; M.A., Stony Brook University; Ph.D., New York University
Areas of expertise: acoustic and electro-acoustic composition, post-tonal analysis, audio programming, algorithmic composition, and mobile platform development of audio applications

Lydia Hamessley, Professor of Music

lhamessl@hamilton.edu
B.Mus.Ed., Texas Lutheran College; M.A. and Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Areas of expertise: American folk and traditional musics, banjo, music and film, Medieval and Renaissance music, music and gender

Robert Hopkins, Associate Professor of Music

rhopkins@hamilton.edu
B.A., Oberlin College; M.A. University of Pennsylvania; Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Areas of expertise: closure in music, codas and their function in sonata-form movements, musical parameters and the perception of musical form, critical and structural analysis of the music of Beethoven, Schubert, Brahms and Mahler; barbershop quartet music and style

G. Roberts Kolb, the Marjorie and Robert W. McEwen Professor and Chair of Music

A.B., Occidental College; M.A., California State University; D.M.A., University of Illinois
Areas of expertise: conducting techniques, choral literature, French Baroque music, Guillaume Bouzignac and Brahms vocal ensemble music

Samuel Pellman, the James L. Ferguson Professor of Music

spellman@hamilton.edu
B.Mus., Miami University; A.M. and D.M.A., Cornell University
Areas of expertise: theory and composition, digital music techniques

Michael Woods, the Leonard C. Ferguson Professor of Music

mwoods@hamilton.edu
B.A., University of Akron; M.A., Indiana University; D.M.A., University of Oklahoma
Areas of expertise: jazz, composition, inspiring student growth and revealing music's secrets

Suzanne Beevers, Lecturer in Music (Violoncello)

sbeevers@hamilton.edu
B.A., Hamilton College; MALS, SUNY Empire State
next page

Contact Information


Music Department

198 College Hill Road
Clinton, NY 13323
315-859-4261 315-859-4464 gkolb@hamilton.edu Music Website
Back to Top