DCF94280-E8F7-F166-A62F886D097067AC
DCFF9E2B-B51D-E7A3-835D5B7810D57689

Meet Our Faculty

Katherine Brown (Jones-Smith)

Katherine Brown (Jones-Smith), Associate Professor of Physics

kjonessm@hamilton.edu
B.S., University of New Mexico; M.S. and Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University
Areas of expertise: fractal analysis of Jackson Pollock drip paintings, theoretical cosmology and non-Hermitian quantum mechanics
Brian Collett

Brian Collett, Professor of Physics

bcollett@hamilton.edu
B.A. and M.A., University of Cambridge; Ph.D., Princeton University
Areas of expertise: computational and electronic projects, and the development of programs to help teach aspects of physics
Viva Horowitz

Viva Horowitz, Assistant Professor of Physics

vhorowit@hamilton.edu
B.A., Swarthmore College; M.S., Ph.D., University of California Santa Barbara
Areas of expertise: experimental condensed matter
Gordon Jones

Gordon Jones, Professor of Physics

gjones@hamilton.edu
B.A., Williams College; M.A., Princeton University; Ph.D., Princeton University
Areas of expertise: neutron spin filters and angular correlations in neutron decay
Seth Major

Seth Major, the Litchfield Professor of Astronomy, Chair of Physics

smajor@hamilton.edu
B.A., Swarthmore College; M.S., Syracuse University; Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University
Areas of expertise: quantum gravity, quantum geometry, general relativity and quantum gravity phenomenology
Megan Marshall Smith

Megan Marshall Smith, Visiting Assistant Professor of Physics

mdsmith@hamilton.edu
B.A., Miami University, B.S., Miami University, M.S., Ph.D., University of Maryland, College Park
Areas of expertise: computational physics, black holes, and astrophysical plasmas
Jon Gaffney

Jon Gaffney, Lecturer in Physics

jgaffney@hamilton.edu
B.S., Bethany College; M.S., University of Pittsburgh; Ph.D., North Carolina State University
Areas of expertise: physics education research

Peter Millet, the Litchfield Professor of Physics Emeritus (retired)

pmillet@hamilton.edu
B.S., Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; M.S. and Ph.D., Syracuse University

Philip Pearle, Professor of Physics Emeritus (retired)

ppearle@hamilton.edu
B.S., M.S., and Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Areas of expertise: foundations of quantum theory
next page

Contact Information


Physics Department

198 College Hill Road
Clinton, NY 13323
315-859-4367 315-859-4807 physics@hamilton.edu
Back to Top