DCF94280-E8F7-F166-A62F886D097067AC
DCFF9E2B-B51D-E7A3-835D5B7810D57689

Meet Our Faculty

Katherine Brown (Jones-Smith), Assistant Professor of Physics

kjonessm@hamilton.edu
B.S., University of New Mexico; M.S. and Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University
Areas of expertise: fractal analysis of Jackson Pollock drip paintings, theoretical cosmology and non-Hermitian quantum mechanics

Brian Collett, the Winslow Chair in Greek, Latin, or Modern Science (Physics)

bcollett@hamilton.edu
B.A. and M.A., University of Cambridge; Ph.D., Princeton University
Areas of expertise: computational and electronic projects, and the development of programs to help teach aspects of physics

Charles Collett, Visiting Assistant Professor of Physics

ccollett@hamilton.edu
B.S., Haverford College; M.S and Ph.D., Northwestern University
Areas of expertise: low-temperature physics, focusing on electron spin resonance experiments and simulations of molecular nanomagnets

Jon Gaffney, Visiting Assistant Professor of Physics

jgaffney@hamilton.edu
B.S., Bethany College; M.S., University of Pittsburgh; Ph.D., North Carolina State University
Areas of expertise: physics education research

Gordon Jones, the Litchfield Professor of Astronomy

gjones@hamilton.edu
B.A., Williams College; M.A., Princeton University; Ph.D., Princeton University
Areas of expertise: neutron spin filters and angular correlations in neutron decay

Seth Major, Chair, Professor of Physics

smajor@hamilton.edu
B.A., Swarthmore College; M.S., Syracuse University; Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University
Areas of expertise: quantum gravity, quantum geometry, general relativity and quantum gravity phenomenology

Contact Information


Physics Department

198 College Hill Road
Clinton, NY 13323
315-859-4367 315-859-4807. physics@hamilton.edu
Back to Top