0523D6C3-FC74-2568-07DDA3A310B5ABBA
7A2B3E1B-B2C4-865D-D13916595E81AAF2

Club Sports


The Physical Education Department supports the following club programs:

Alpine Skiing

The Alpine Ski Team is a coed club sport that currently has 23 members. The team practices twice a week at Labrador Mountain, which is roughly an hour away from campus. Wednesday nights are dedicated to Giant Slalom, and Thursday nights are reserved for Slalom. The team practices and races with the supervision of the Labrador Racing Staff. The team races about seven times a year, beginning in the middle of January, in conjunction with the United Ski and Snowboard Association. Contact Emily Teichman eteichma@hamilton.edu

Basketball (W)

The Hamilton College Women's Club Basketball team is a club sport that provides its members the opportunity to practice and compete at an intercollegiate level. The team practices twice a week, usually for an hour and a half, doing drills and playing against each other in teams. We compete with schools such as Binghamton University, Le Moyne College, Cornell University, etc. in various home games, away games, or tournaments. New players with varying levels of experience are welcomed to join the team although some experience is recommended. Contact Hayley Berliner at hberline@hamilton.edu or Jenny Soonthornrangsan at jsoontho@hamilton.edu for more information.

Curling

The Curling Team currently has 20 members. We practice on Sundays at the Utica Curling Club, located in Whitesboro, N.Y. The team competes against other schools at college bonspiels, including our own tournament. In the past, we have traveled to Schenectady and Rochester, N.Y., and to Boston and Chicago. No experience is necessary to join the team. Contact Andrew Fletcher at afletche@hamilton.edu.

Cycling

The Hamilton College Cycling Club is a racing team that competes in the Eastern Collegiate Cycling Conference. The team trains about five days a week in the fall and the spring. The racing season runs from mid-March through mid-May. All experience levels are welcome. Contact Peter Skaggs at pskaggs@hamilton.edu or Todd Rayne at trayne@hamilton.edu.

Equestrian Team

The Equestrian Team is a coed club sport that gives its members the opportunity to ride and compete at the college level. Each member practices twice a week at Whitefox Farm, which is about five minutes from campus. The team competes in eight horse shows a year and is part of the national Intercollegiate Horse Show Association. No experience is required to join. Contact Gabby Troya gtroya@hamilton.edu or Lauren Baker at lbaker@hamilton.edu.

Fencing Team

The Fencing Team is a coed club sport that currently has 13 members. The team practices from 4 to 6 p.m. Monday through Thursday in one of the old squash courts on the second floor of the Alumni Gym. Although not part of a larger organization, the Fencing Team competes against other schools such as Hobart and William Smith College, RPI and Colgate in interscholastic tournaments. No experience is required to join the team. Contact Jennie Wilber at jxwilber@hamilton.edu or Zach Brett at Zach Brett.

Figure Skating

Captains: Katherine O’Malley (keomalle@hamilton.edu) Stephanie Kall (skall@hamilton.edu) Coach: Samantha North League USFSA Collegiate Team Team Description The Hamilton College Figure Skating Club (HCFSC) is a group of skaters of all levels who practice three times a week in a supportive and fun environment. We have a coach who teaches basic and advanced skills so we can work towards individual competitions, exhibitions, and group performances. The HCFSC also promotes skating on campus by hosting an all-campus event where we lend free skate rentals to students so they have a chance to skate at Sage Rink without having skates or knowing how to skate. In addition, our biggest performance every year is at the infamous Citrus Bowl, where we perform between periods at the popular men’s hockey game against Trinity. Practice Schedule Tues/Thurs: 8:30PM - 10:30PM Sun: 7:30PM - 9:00PM

Ice Hockey

The Club Hockey Team provides the opportunity to play quality hockey in a competitive environment. The team consists of experienced members who have played at the high-school and prep-school level, and it won the championship in its inaugural year. It regularly competes in the Upstate New York Club Hockey League, which includes teams such as Lemoyne College and Union. The Hamilton team practices on a regular schedule and plays most of its games on weekends. Experience is recommended; new players are always welcome. Contact Steven Stone at sstone@hamilton.edu or Ryan Glenn at rglenn@hamilton.edu.

Nordic Skiing

The Nordic Ski Team is a coed club sport that currently has 20 members. The team practices three afternoons a week either in the Glen, on Hamilton's golf course or other nearby locations. The team is a member of the Mideast Conference of the United Ski and Snowboard Association and competes in a number of races each season. Students of all experience levels are welcome though experienced students are encouraged to join. Contact Dan Wall dwall@hamilton.edu or Ellie Pinto epinto@hamilton.edu.

Rugby (M)

One of the largest and most active club sports on campus, Hamilton Men’s Rugby competes in the New York Rugby Empire East Division II conference, frequently facing such schools as Colgate, RPI, Siena and Union. Led by head coach Pete Gelinas, with a large number of rising sophomores and juniors as members, the team anticiptes another great season in the fall. New players are always welcome to join the team, and no prior experience is necessary. Practices are held from 4 to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday on Minor Field during the fall and spring. Contact Noam Barnhard at nbarnhar@hamilton.edu, Dan Farina at dfarina@hamilton.edu, or Jon Capelin at jcapelin@hamilton.edu.

Rugby (W)

The Women’s Rugby Team is a competitive club sport that provides a positive, fun and enriching environment for athletes who enjoy team sports. No experience is needed, and the majority of students who join the team have no prior knowledge of the game. The team usually practices on Minor Field from 4:30 to 6:30 pm Monday through Friday. We are a part of the Central National Small College Rugby Organization (NSCRO), and we compete in both the fall and spring seasons. Rugby is a club sport, meaning that there are no try-outs or cuts and everyone plays. Contact Charlie Cross at cmcross@hamilton.edu or Liza Frazier at lfrazier@hamilton.edu.

Soccer (M)

The Hamilton College Men’s Club Soccer team is a relatively new athletic club on campus, and provides students the opportunity to play soccer in an environment less intense than that at a varsity level. While all skill levels are welcome, we do keep a competitive level as we compete in the Region 1 Upstate New York Division, against schools like Colgate, RIT, RPI, Syracuse, Cornell and so on. The team is active throughout both seasons, practicing 4 times a week, with league games/friendlies during the weekend. While the Fall season is substantially longer, we still do have a Spring season that consists mostly of indoor practices and games, and towards then end of the Spring, a couple of outdoor games. Contact Steven Cunden (scunden@hamilton.edu), Nick Falcone (nfalcone@hamilton.edu) or Kevin Alcala (kalcala@hamilton.edu)."

Soccer (W)

The Hamilton College Women’s Club Soccer Team gives female students a chance to play soccer at a competitive level in an environment that is more relaxed than that of varsity soccer. Though most members played in high school, we welcome all skill levels. The team currently has 30 members and competes in the Region 1 Eastern New York Division, which includes schools such as Colgate, Binghamton, Cornell, Syracuse and Ithaca. The team is active year-round, with weekly practices and games during the fall and spring. In the fall, the team has the opportunity to advance to the Region 1 Tournament. In fall 2014, the Women’s Club Soccer team won the Eastern New York Division and advanced to the Region 1 Tournament in Delaware. Contact Hanna O’Leary at hoxleary@hamilton.edu or Leah Weaver at lweaver@hamilton.edu

Sailing

The Hamilton College Sailing Team, which is coed, competes in the Mid-Atlantic Intercollegiate Sailing Association, taking part in dinghy and keelboat regattas in the fall and spring. Regatta competitions are most often single-day trips or weekend overnights in college dormitories or member residences. The team practices at the Willow Bank Yacht Club in Cazenovia New York three times a week weather permitting. Contact Zach Baum at zbaum@hamilton.edu

Ultimate Frisbee

The Ultimate Frisbee organization on campus consists of men’s and women’s teams with a total of more than 75 members. The teams compete separately but some practices are coed, and there are nightly joint team dinners. Teams practice five times a week in the fall and travel around the Northeast for tournaments. Teams prepare indoors and outdoors in winter and early spring to compete in the USA Ultimate College Series. The men’s team most recently finished fifth in the Metro East Region, and the women's team finished 13th in the country at Nationals. Contact Kateri Boucher at kboucher@hamilton.edu.

Water Polo

Water Polo Fact Sheet: • Compete in the New York State League of Colligate Water Polo • Play against teams like Cornell, West Point Military Academy, NYU and Columbia • We travel up to 16 Players • Hosted the Division III Water Polo Club National Championship in 2016 and placed 6th • Hosting New York State Nationals this year (2017) (Also hosted them in 2015) • Open to players of all levels from beginner to seasoned high school veterans • Come join us, get in shape and have a great time! Contact: Frankie Hearne fhearne@hamilton.edu

Contact Information


Dave Thompson

315-859-4754 315-859-4293 dthompso@hamilton.edu
Back to Top