Public Speaking

For information about the Three Minute Thesis Competition go hamilton.edu/3MT.

More than $12,000 in cash prizes are awarded each year in the Hamilton Public Speaking Competition.

2019 competition

The annual Public Speaking Competition took place on Saturday, March 2, in the Chapel.

The 2019 McKinney Prize recipients and their topics are:

  • Class of 2019: Michael Wang, “Hidden Fees”
  • Class of 2020: Taomi Kenny, “The Value of Curiosity”
  • Class of 2021: Ken Fung, “Change Your Thoughts, Change Your World”
  • Class of 2022: Abbie Wolff, “Speaking to be Heard: The Impact of Socialization on Women's Speech”

The 2019 Clark Prize recipient is Emily Aviles ’19, whose winning presentation was titled “The True Price of Higher Education.”

The 2019 Warren Wright Prize recipient is Harry Dubke ’19. His topic was “Slow Food: A Revolution in Every Bite!”

Previous Award Recipients Videos of Winning Speeches

Contact Information

Amy Gaffney

Oral Communication Center Director
Kirner-Johnson 222
315-859-4401 oralcomm@hamilton.edu


Sep 9 – Dec 15

S 3 p.m. – 10 p.m.

M 3 p.m. – 10 p.m.

T 3 p.m. – 10 p.m.

W 3 p.m. – 10 p.m.

T 3 p.m. – 10 p.m.

Drop-ins welcome; appointments recommended.

Schedule an Appointment
Back to Top