Mission Statement and Goals

The mission of the Arthur Levitt Public Affairs Center is to strengthen and support the study of public affairs at Hamilton College.

The goals of the Center are:

  • To enable students to engage in public affairs through research, service-learning, lectures, discussion, and practice.
  • To foster creative, ethical, and informed responses to public issues by providing opportunities for students to engage with the local community, develop leadership skills, and explore careers in public service.
  • To support interdisciplinary collaboration and discussion; and to encourage faculty to address public affairs in their own research and in collaborative research with Hamilton students.


Frank Anechiarico

Faculty Director and Maynard-Knox Professor of Government and Law

Christina Willemsen

Administrative Director



Chris is available to talk about all aspects of Levitt Center programming, including student and faculty research, social innovation programming, leadership programs, and potential new opportunities and collaborations with other offices, faculty, staff, or students. You can set up an appointment below or contact her by email or phone. Her office is in the Levitt Center, Kirner-Johnson 251C.

Zack Schuman

Assistant Director of Community-Based Learning



Zack is available to talk about community-based learning programming including SHINE, VITA, and Law and Justice Lab, the Public Philosophy program, and other ways students may get involved in Levitt Center programming. You can set up an appointment below or contact him by email or phone. His office is in the Levitt Center, Kirner-Johnson 251D.

Rachael Clark

Office Coordinator COOP/ Chaplaincy/Levitt Center

Simon Stanco

Temporary Office Assistant

Levitt Council

  • Frank Anechiarico, Director of the Levitt Center (Spring 2021); Maynard-Knox Professor of Law

  • Mo Alloush, Assistant Professor of Economics

  • Alexsia Chan, Director of Inequality and Equity Program; Assistant Professor of Government

  • Kevin Grant, Edgar B. Graves Professor of History

  • Mark Cryer, Associate Professor of Theatre

  • Erica De Bruin, Director of Justice and Security Program; Associate Professor of Government

  • Jaime Kucinskas, Associate Professor of Sociology

  • Herm Lehman, Director of Public Health and Well-Being Program; Professor of Biology

  • Kyoko Omori, Associate Professor of East Asian Languages and Literatures

  • Alex Plakias, Director of Sustainability Program; Associate Professor of Philosophy

  • Julie Starr, Assistant Professor of Anthropology


Office / Department Name

Levitt Center

Contact Name

Christina Willemsen

Administrative Director

Office Location
Kirner-Johnson 251

The $400 million campaign to provide students with a life-altering education.

Learn More About the Campaign

Site Search